Plum and Ginger Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
very delicious, though I am glad we ended up not having light corn syrup on hand as the dish was sweet and a bit sauce heavy as it was. used zucchini and sugar snap peas instead of mushrooms and snow peas. will definitely have again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
My DH made this for dinner the other night and it was really good - but even better the next day. We cut the recipe in half, but used all the garlic, more fresh ginger than called for (probably 1 tsp or so) and only 1/4 cup of corn syrup (glad we did, or it would have been waaaay too sweet). The end result was tasty and healthy; we probably will turn to this recipe in future if we're looking for a chicken stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Good. I found a similar recipe that calls for only 1/4 cup of corn syrup (or golden syrup) which seemed a *much* less scary quantity! It also uses water chestnuts instead of mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
My husband and I love this recipe. It is a regular meal in our house. I spice it up a little bit by adding a few shakes of red pepper flakes and I use a spicy plum sauce. I just use whatever veggies I have on hand. Thanks for the simple and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
The only changes I made were to use brown sugar instead of corn syrup, and I ended up having to add some water to thin out the sauce as it was too sticky and glutinous. I made this with a mushroom medley pack which included oyster, chestnut, crimini and white button mushrooms. It could do with a little kick of something spicy, but otherwise, this was decent. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This had great flavours. The ginger and and plum sauce really work well together. All I did different was I added carrots and water chestnuts. I think next time I will try using flour instead of corn starch on the chicken, it made it a bit thicker/sticky while cooking. I also added fresh garlic and green onions while cooking the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
A very good taste. I would add some more veggies with this one. I also made coconut rice which was a wonderful addition to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
mmmmmm Yummy flavours. I admit I did add a bit more ginger then called for, omitted the syrup and added a few chili peppers. Turned out great !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Ligertwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
This is a great recipe! I have made many different stir fry sauces and this one is fabulous and easy to prepare! I made it with pork, and put ginger in with the rice. My husband says its one of his favorites! Very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I love the flavor of this but made some adjustments: * NO corn syrup, * no chicken bouillon, * no corn starch. I made this plum sauce: Spicy-Plum-Sauce and sweetened it with about 1/4 teaspoon of stevia. It is PLENTY sweet without the corn syrup, and much healthier. My husband loves this on his HCG diet (minus the rice and oil).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States