Plum and Ginger Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
very delicious, though I am glad we ended up not having light corn syrup on hand as the dish was sweet and a bit sauce heavy as it was. used zucchini and sugar snap peas instead of mushrooms and snow peas. will definitely have again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
Uninspiring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
This is a great recipe! I have made many different stir fry sauces and this one is fabulous and easy to prepare! I made it with pork, and put ginger in with the rice. My husband says its one of his favorites! Very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Great flavor! Unusual dish, my boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
This is a great concept to combine the flavor of ginger with the body of the plum sauce in a simple dish. I made this with zuchini and lots of onions; the result was a dish I will put on my regular menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
My husband and I love this recipe. It is a regular meal in our house. I spice it up a little bit by adding a few shakes of red pepper flakes and I use a spicy plum sauce. I just use whatever veggies I have on hand. Thanks for the simple and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
It was too gingery for me, and I cut the ginger a bit too. Not a bad meal, but we didn't love it. We prefer Oyster Sauce Chicken, which is similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
AWESOME !! My family loved this recipe. The only change I made was to add carrots. This will be a regular dish. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
We didn't put any chicken (or cornstarch) in because we only had bone-in chicken and we wanted something fast. We added more ginger (mixed into the sauce, not cooked with the veggies), cooked the garlic with the vegetables, decreased the corn syrup to 1/3 cup, and added water chestnuts for crunch. A nice stir-fry sauce, excellent over jasmine rice. This dish was fabulous meatless, but we will definitely try it with chicken in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I should have listened to the other reviewers who said it was too sweet! OMG. I could barely get it down. The first few bites were really good and then it went down from there. I added a touch more soy and siracha but that didn't help. I think the plum sauce is really sweet on its own. I've just never heard of using corn syrup in chinese, so I had to try it. I didn't even add the full half cup. Honestly, I don't see how 3/4 tsp of ginger could be too much as some said, but then again, people complain about a recipe being bland when it's got nothing but one ingredient by itself to add flavor?!?!!!! I added red bell, bean sprouts, onion and omitted mushrooms because I didn't have any...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States