Plum and Ginger Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
very delicious, though I am glad we ended up not having light corn syrup on hand as the dish was sweet and a bit sauce heavy as it was. used zucchini and sugar snap peas instead of mushrooms and snow peas. will definitely have again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
Uninspiring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
This is a great recipe! I have made many different stir fry sauces and this one is fabulous and easy to prepare! I made it with pork, and put ginger in with the rice. My husband says its one of his favorites! Very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Great flavor! Unusual dish, my boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
This is a great concept to combine the flavor of ginger with the body of the plum sauce in a simple dish. I made this with zuchini and lots of onions; the result was a dish I will put on my regular menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
My husband and I love this recipe. It is a regular meal in our house. I spice it up a little bit by adding a few shakes of red pepper flakes and I use a spicy plum sauce. I just use whatever veggies I have on hand. Thanks for the simple and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
It was too gingery for me, and I cut the ginger a bit too. Not a bad meal, but we didn't love it. We prefer Oyster Sauce Chicken, which is similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
AWESOME !! My family loved this recipe. The only change I made was to add carrots. This will be a regular dish. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
We didn't put any chicken (or cornstarch) in because we only had bone-in chicken and we wanted something fast. We added more ginger (mixed into the sauce, not cooked with the veggies), cooked the garlic with the vegetables, decreased the corn syrup to 1/3 cup, and added water chestnuts for crunch. A nice stir-fry sauce, excellent over jasmine rice. This dish was fabulous meatless, but we will definitely try it with chicken in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I should have listened to the other reviewers who said it was too sweet! OMG. I could barely get it down. The first few bites were really good and then it went down from there. I added a touch more soy and siracha but that didn't help. I think the plum sauce is really sweet on its own. I've just never heard of using corn syrup in chinese, so I had to try it. I didn't even add the full half cup. Honestly, I don't see how 3/4 tsp of ginger could be too much as some said, but then again, people complain about a recipe being bland when it's got nothing but one ingredient by itself to add flavor?!?!!!! I added red bell, bean sprouts, onion and omitted mushrooms because I didn't have any...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States