Plum Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This is so easy to make and it's delicious! I only changed a couple of things. I used the whole 18 oz jar of plum jam, omitted the pepper, used garlic powder, and added a couple of tablespoons of soy sauce. Served as an additional dipping sauce with Baked Teriyaki Chicken from this site. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
This plum sauce is perfect for crab rangoons. I couldn't find plum jam so I used canned plums in syrup. I removed the pits and peels and blended them before adding them to the pot. I added extra sugar and it turned out well. It was a little too spicy for me so next time I would add half the amount of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
This is exactly the recipe I've been searching for. I had this sauce with chicken once in a restaurant and have been looking for a similar recipe ever since! Thanks Rayna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
This was really simple to make and I had everything on hand. I doubled this and got 2 pints of sauce. This is sweet and spicy. We ate some with chicken and liked it very much. This is just like you get at the asian take out restaurants. I didn't use jam though, I was making homemade red plum jam and used 2 cups of the red plum puree and 3 1/3 c sugar then boiled it for 5 minutes, so there wasn't any certo or sure jell in it like the jam would hve had. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Good, but you can't make this ahead very easily. Once it cools down, it thickens up like jam. You must re-heat and serve warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This sauce went fantastically with the mini sweet potato samosas on here. I added a lot more red pepper flakes (probably about 2 Tbsp. - we like our food fiery!), and a little more vinegar. Great flavours, and so easy to prepare... took me no more than 4 minutes to get it all heated up and ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Came out absolutely delicious as is. I've used this on everything from baked potatoes to fried fish to chicken to pork to steak! It's delicious. It's sweet, spicy, and mmmmmm so good. When I worked as a waiter at a restaurant a few years back, my favorite dish was this pork with plum sauce. It was delicious and one of the most popular dishes at the restaurant. This sauce is very similar to that one. One thing I've modified however, is I first saute the garlic and onion in 1 tblsp of EVOO. I realized the recipe doesn't even call for oil, but I reflexively did it and it was a-ok. I actually prefer it that way because I first saute the garlic and onion, get all those yummy juice sizzling and then mix in the ham, vinegar, brown sugar, ginger, and red pepper. Oh and I also used rice vinegar instead because I wanted a more oriental cuisine taste from my sauce. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
I used plum butter instead of plum jam and it was great! If you do use the plum butter add water to loosen it up. This was great served as a shrimp dip. I can't wait to try this with pork or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hopatcong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This was great! I used it for a thai chicken pizza and it was just what I needed! I didn't have plum jam so I used apricot and it worked great! Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This is a great sauce for crab rangoons. I've made it twice. Someone commented that the sauce thickens up like jam when it cools, so you have to warm it up again. I encountered this too, so I added some pineapple juice to thin it out. I also used fresh, minced ginger and left out the minced onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEECGM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States