Plum Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This bread was awesome. Even my kids wanted it for breakfast and asked for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
YUMMY!! a Favorite, for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MarileeB
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Thanks Gloria! The plums give some cherry-like tartness and juicyness to this bread - bright, sweet and satisfying. Based on the other reviews that mentioned that it could get too wet, I made these changes: 3 cups flour (not 2) 2 eggs (not 1) 1/2 cup oil (not 3/4 cup) The two loaves came out perfectly after only 50 minutes in the oven (I posted a picture too). Oh, I also used plums that I had previously pitted & frozen, which made them easy to chop and stir into the batter. Oh, and I also let them cool in the pan about 1/2 an hour to make them easier to get out of the pan without losing all the pretty topping. I'm giving one of the loaves as a gift today because it's so awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I have a plum tree and sometimes wonder what to do with all the excess...I've been making this quick bread for a couple of years....it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I have a ton of plums right now because my plum tree is bearing, and I wanted a good recipe to use some of the plums with. So, I gave this a try. Unfortunately, it didn't turn out well. It is so moist that I can't even get it out of the pan. I even baked it longer than the recipe called for, tested with a toothpick, and let it get really golden brown, but it is still soggy. It tastes pretty good, especially the topping, but it is just way too soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
This bread is wonderful. As the flavors meld, it gets even better! We have eaten it plain, with dusted confectioners sugar, cream cheese frosting, and with plum jam. It is just the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This is amazing! So rich, and sweet and plummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Had some plums to use up and found this. My 20 month old LOVES it! He's super picky too and I'm getting some fruit in him ;) Made one loaf with the pecans and one without for personal preferences. Thanks for the fantastic quick bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This was delicious! Modifications for health factor: subsituted 1/2 C pear puree, plus 1/4 cup oil for oil. half WW flour, half white. I also added a 1/2 C of oatmeal because I used 2 whole cups of plums (italian prune plums). Also added 1 tsp of cinnamon and about a 1/4 tsp of nutmeg to the batter. But the coolest thing I tried was that for the topping, I had no nuts but all the reviews said the crunch was great...so I looked around and used All Bran Buds - the result was awesome! so for the topping I used much more than was listed here - about 1/2 cup of the bran buds, cinnamon, and just a drizzle of melted butter to make the cinnamon stick. Great way to add some fibre here and they are so good! The 'bread' did seem to fall apart and so if anyone knows a trick to firm it up, please let me know. I'll try adding an additional egg white or two and more oats next time...But it is so good I don't really care if it falls apart...MMMmmmm! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I followed this recipe to the letter, but it was so moist that it completely fell apart when I removed it from the pan after the 10 minutes cooling. Flavor was lovely, but it needed to be eaten with a spoon. The bottom adhered to the pan, even though the pans were well greased. I can't imagine what went wrong. I am not a novice baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States