Plum Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I had some plums that were getting too ripe. I used them in this recipe to make the plum pudding. The plums that I used were about 3 inches in diameter. I used red plums. I followed the directions on the recipe and made some adjustments as were suggested in some of the reviews. I cut back on the sugar when cooking the plums with the tapioca. After it was cooked, I tasted the juice and thought it needed a bit more sugar. In all I probably used 3/4 cup of sugar in the plum mixture. The plums that I had were quite tart and may have been the reason I felt like it needed more sugar. It was suggested to cut the temperature in the oven by Kelinwa when baking the baking mix topping. I cut my oven temperature to 400 degrees and baked it for the recommended time. It was perfect, the topping was brown and just perfect. My husband and I both loved it. There was plenty of juice in it for me, and plenty of sugar in it for him:) Great recipe,I will definitely use this recipe again, thanks for sharing. Cathy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I've never had (or made) plum pudding before, and this was excellent, and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Not a "plum pudding" in the English sense, which is more of a cake. In traditional plum pudding, the "plum" is dried raisins. Oh, those crazy Brits! Gotta love em. This is a plum cobbler and pretty good at that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I really love that recipe. Will make it for our next Thanksgiving dinner. I folow some members advice and reduce the temperature when cooking the top. I put down at 300 F for 22 min and add 5 minutes at 350 F to get the top brown a little bit. I also add 1/4 tsp of all spices and it was really tasty. Do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
very easy recipe to follow and tasty. A little on the sweet side for us so next time will omit the sugar. Also agree with another review that it needs to cook a little longer for the tapioca to do it's thicking thing. I also added a tsp of Epicure pumpkin pie spice just for a twist. next time will try their lemon chiffon. Different, easy and tasty what more can you ask for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
We enjoyed the flavor of this dish, and I was happy to find a recipe to use some of the plums from our tree. I replaced the water with the liquid that was produced from the thawed, frozen plums. I cut the amount of sugar in half. I really wish, though, that the recipe would've specified the size of plums to use or given a weight. My plums were small, so I ended up with way too much biscuit topping for the amount of plums. I will know to use more plums next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Because my nephews have allergies I made this recipe gluten and dairy free. I used a gluten free pancake mix for the top and instead of shortening used Earth Balance Soy free butter. The amount of water was too much, however, and I had to add more starch to thicken it. In place of regular milk I used rice milk and I must say you can't tell that anything was substituted for the original ingredients. Overall a fantastic recipe. I'd change the title to plum cobbler though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
The fruit mixture needs to cook twice as long to become thicker. The baking mix topping also needs to cook twice as long. I also cut the sugar in half. All said and done, good flavor and raves from all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This is more like a cobbler than a pudding but it is the most delicious dessert I have eaten in a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKWildflower

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Very delicious and I will for sure be making this again! I used fresh plums that my neighbour picked for me (the little ones)Yummy! Since they were smallish I ended up using ~20. I cut the sugar down to 2/3 cup and it was plenty. I didn't have instant tapioca so I used what I had on hand - the pearl slow-cooking tapioca. Not a good idea as it didn't really cook through. I normally love tapioca and its a nice concept but I think next time I will omit that. I made a baking mix I found on this site (2 1/4 cup flour, 1 tbsp. baking powder, 3/4 tsp salt, 1/2 cup shortening. Mix dry indgredients, cut in shortening til crumbly.) Turned out wonderfully - except for the slightly chewy tapioca which was my fault!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States