Plum Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
Delicious! More like a plum cobbler than a pudding. Note: dough topping came out a little raw in the middle after cooking only 10 minutes at the end. Would decrease temperature and increase topping bake time to 18-20 minutes to cook through. Other than that, this dessert was a real hit and the flavor was excellent. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
My mom and I tried this recipe, but we may have used the wrong kind of plums. While the dish was very good, we were wondering just whether the supplier of this recipe could tell us if she used the small blue plums, red plums, or the larger black plums.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This turned out beautiful. I wasn't quite sure what baking mix was, I google'd it and got a quick recipe(add certain ratio of baking powder,soda and salt to the flour) sorry, I didn't write it down. I didn't have tapioca, so just omitted it(next time i'll put it in)but it was still excellent. I will post a pic on this pretty dessert!! Also I halved the recipe, I had 6 over-ripe plums in the fridge. I used soft butter instead of the margorine, to cut it into the dry ingredients to give it the "crumbly effect"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okeechobee, Florida, USA
Living In: Red Boiling Springs, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Very delicious and I will for sure be making this again! I used fresh plums that my neighbour picked for me (the little ones)Yummy! Since they were smallish I ended up using ~20. I cut the sugar down to 2/3 cup and it was plenty. I didn't have instant tapioca so I used what I had on hand - the pearl slow-cooking tapioca. Not a good idea as it didn't really cook through. I normally love tapioca and its a nice concept but I think next time I will omit that. I made a baking mix I found on this site (2 1/4 cup flour, 1 tbsp. baking powder, 3/4 tsp salt, 1/2 cup shortening. Mix dry indgredients, cut in shortening til crumbly.) Turned out wonderfully - except for the slightly chewy tapioca which was my fault!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
A delicious recipe, not your regular pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This is more like a cobbler than a pudding but it is the most delicious dessert I have eaten in a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKWildflower

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I give this a great score for flavor, but the consistency was quite runny, it actually seemed more like what we would call a cobbler. It coagulated once I put it in the fridge, but then the crust was cold :( Ah well, yummy anyway and everyone liked it :) Maybe it could use a tad more tapioca?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
This stuff it Wonderful. I had gotten some plums to make something with and this recipes was just the thing for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
We enjoyed the flavor of this dish, and I was happy to find a recipe to use some of the plums from our tree. I replaced the water with the liquid that was produced from the thawed, frozen plums. I cut the amount of sugar in half. I really wish, though, that the recipe would've specified the size of plums to use or given a weight. My plums were small, so I ended up with way too much biscuit topping for the amount of plums. I will know to use more plums next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
The fruit mixture needs to cook twice as long to become thicker. The baking mix topping also needs to cook twice as long. I also cut the sugar in half. All said and done, good flavor and raves from all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States