Plum Pudding II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
This was my first experience making plum pudding, and while this recipe is different from those I've tasted, it was very tasty. Full of a wonderful spice flavor. We served it warm with ice cream and really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
This recipe is amazing! My dad loves plum pudding, so I have to make this every Christmas. Its become a tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This has also become a family tradition for us ~ I've made it for years now. It is so easy and so delicious! I use a cleaned and buttered 1 lb coffee can for a "mold" and steam it in my crock pot (lid off).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I made this for the first time yesterday and it was DELICIOUS! I left out the currants and the citron (as I didn't have any in the pantry) and it was excellent nonetheless. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This is just like the plum pudding my English grandfather made when I was a child. He served it with CPR (Canadian Pacific Railway) Brandy Sauce. 2T butter 1/3 C sugar 1/2 C boiling water 2t cornstarch 1/2 C milk 2 egg yolks 2-4 T brandy. Melt butter in saucepan, add sugar and boiling water. Mix cornstarch in 2 T milk. Beat eggs with a fork, add remaining milk and beat together and add dissolved cornstarch into saucepan and stir constantly until thick (about 10 minutes.) Remove from heat. When cool, stir in brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rcaf36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Innisfil, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
A fantastic, rich and authentic tasting dessert. Perfect for finishing off any Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Just perfect. Served with a traditional sweet white sauce. In Wales, we would even hide a sixpence in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyson Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This looks very good-will try it soon. I just wanted to warn everyone to not use real Holly or the berries for decoration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Loved it. I added a couple of ounces of rum to my batter. Smells wonderful!??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Terrific. I doubled it and used figs instead of dates So while there are no plums it became a "figgy pudding" perfect for the season. I used a bundt pan to steam it in and later served it cold with "creme de cassis" (black current brandy) drizzled over the top and then whipped cream. Could become our new favorite for Christmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JHeid

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States