Plum Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This pie was more like a tart or streusel or even a shortcake with the cake-like crust. My family favored the cake the best. On the results page for this Plum Pie the description mentioned there was sour cream and heavy cream in the recipe. I wonder if those ingredients were left out because they are not listed in the recipe's ingredients. That would make a difference in the crust giving it more flavor and a moist texture. I thought the lemon was added a nice flavor to the dish. I put a pinch extra in the cake. There is enough dough for two pies so we made one with plums and the other apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I made this pie for a potluck tonight. There wasn't a single crumb left! The other reviewers are correct there is enough crust for 2 pies. I liked the crust; it reminded me of cookie dough. I used a deep dish pie pan so I needed more fruit than 5 cups. I ran out of plums so I used 2 peaches. Its a great combination. I just added a bit more sugar to compensate for the additional fruit. I made the streusel topping just as listed and thought it was delicious. Be sure to use a pie shield on the crust so that it doesn't get too brown while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
FANTASTIC!!!! This recipe was very easy to follow and the pie turned out very nice. I used a 9.5in. pie pan and a little more than 4c of plums because i wanted my pie to be full and have a mound on top. I used the basic flaky pie crust recipe from this site, its the easiest crust and came out good (i doudbled the recipe for a top and bottom, used butter instead of shortening, a little more flour for when rolling out). Used both bottom and top pie crust and topped it with the brown sugar crumble from this recipe. Took to work and everyone absoulutley LOVED it. It tasted amazing, will definately used again. Highly recommended. Thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nata

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
It was delicious! I have never cooked with plums before but someone gave me a whole grocery bag full so i tried it. It tasted almost like apple pie i will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
If you like rubarb or strawberry crisp you will like this pie. Made for a family function and it went fast. I didn't think that the plums were too tart. Next time, I will mix in another fruit, raspberries, blackberries, or even some blueberries. You have to have it a la mode!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckacarr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
This recipe worked very well for me despite the fact that I was missing a couple of ingredients. I had to omit the nutmeg and I used 1/2 tsp bottled lemon juice instead of the zest wherever it was called for. Also, I went with the walnuts instead of hazlenuts, again only because that was what I had on hand. Instead of using a pie pan, I used eight 1 cup baking dishes, so I ended up with eight deep dish tarts, each one equal to 1/8 of a pie. The recipe filled them perfectly. To make things easier, I just dropped the crust mix into the cups and pressed it to the bottom and sides with my fingers instead of rolling it out. There is a bit of rise in this crust, so it bakes out just as evenly as if it had been rolled. And, the streusal topping meets the crust to cover any uneven edges. I would bet you could do the same thing with a pie pan as well and save yourself the mess of rolling out. If you do tarts, put them in the middle of the oven and start checking after about 20 minutes. Mine took about 24 to bake. I was quite dubous about all the vanilla in this recipe, as it seemed an odd flavor to pair with plums, but it was very tasty. I think it is important to use plums which are sweetly ripe but not mushy. The pie really does taste a lot like cherry and plums are so much cheaper to get at this time of year. I am making it again today, and trying Splenda instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
This is a good recipe that I recommend. However, it makes so much dough that you could even make another layer on top of the pie. Since I used the streusel, I flattened some leftover dough, sliced an apple and mixed the slices with the residue left from the plum filling. Then I put it on top of the dough and baked it, and I got a pretty good pastry out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
Yummy! The Italian plums worked well with this recipe. My family loved it, especially the combination of plums and the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I have never attempted anything like this and it was so easy and delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmella333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Fantastic recipe! My friends and family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatham, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States