Plum Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
While I used my standard pie crust recipe and didn't have enough sugar for the plums, it came out great. The key is to use italian plums, which are only in season a short time. They aren't as sweet. I found them on sale at my favorite grocer for only 1.68/lb. I remember some 20 years ago, a man I worked with brought in an Italian plum pie that was to die for. I love fruit pies. This did the memory justice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Pfeifle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Photo by Addylin
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Good recipe, nice crust. I found it quite sweet really, perhaps can reduce the amount of sugars all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This is now my favorite pie - ever! I did substitute hazelnuts for pecans but other than that followed the recipe and it turned out great! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I love tart pies and this was fabulous! I cut the vanilla, added extra cinnamon and a tsp of Chinese 5 spice and then added a bit of corn starch and extra flour to the pie filling to thicken it up (1st attempt was very watery but tasty) and it came out perfectly and didn't survive the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Sweet...literally. The recipe is straightforward and pretty easy to handle for even a novice. For practical purposes, I used a leftover deep dish pie crust. People with a sweet tooth will be lost in pleasure, for instance, my youngest child and wife enjoyed this. Conversely, I took one bite and made myself an double espresso to take the sweet edge off. Next time, I plan to cut back on the sugar, coarsely chop the plums instead of slicing, and leave out the nuts and lemon zest on the topping. This was my first time making a plum pie and have already made a plum tart recipe based on this recipe. Thank you for the share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZCHOCTAW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
yummy! crust was delicious with the lemon zest and the amount of sugar complemented the tangy plums! prep time a little longer than 30 min (more like an hour)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This was the most "interesting" pie I've ever made, and I have made many. I should have known off the bat not to use this crust recipe. It is more like a lemon sugar cookie recipe than anything else. The filling was pretty good although incredibly tart. If I make this again I will do 1/2 plums and 1/2 red apples to even out the tartness. Good thing I had some vanilla ice cream around this time! Lastly, I liked the streusel topping, but it would have been even better if it were simply 1/2 c. sugar, 1/3 c. flour, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/4 c. butter. Amazing streusel topping without all the fuss (and cost!) of chopped hazelnuts. I will try again with some modifications. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by krispn
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
This pie is so good, It came out tasting more like a cobbler which in my opinion is a good thing. The recipie actually made so much though that it filled two pie pans so I had to make a little more topping for the second pan. If you use just ripened plums its more tart, but if you like a sweeter taste just let the plums ripen more, they get sweeter as they ripen, i picked mine off a tree and let them ripen in the fridge for over a week before using them and they were candy sweet. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This is good, but not a great pie. I made this with pears. I liked the filling and the topping, but it`s not "my" dough. A little dry and dense for me. This pie is better, than some others I`ve baked, but I`m still looking for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Overall decent, but I had a couple minor problems. First, the pie was toooo sweet. I know plums get sweeter when you cook them, but this was just too much for me. Second, my crumb topping ended up truly soggy in a very short period of time. I did alter this to be gluten-free for two of my gluten sensitive co-workers, which could have affected the topping's crispness, but I'm not sure that was really the problem. It was good though to use a lot of plums in one dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States