Plum Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by irene
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I have not taste it yet, but it was great to me...this is my first plum pie...I used gluten free flour found at Walmart...followed the same steps, but being that gluten free pastries fall apart easily, keep the dough in the fridge as long as possible...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I just made this YUM! I did cheat and use a Pilsbury Premade roll crust as I am not a crust maker no matter how easy it is supposed to be,I did add 1/3 cup oats to the strudel topping,just a strudel thing I have..but it was a great yummy way to get the last of the plums from our tree use up in a very delish way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bananas567
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
This is a great recipe to make a great plum pie. I had to improvise on some of the ingredients but it still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Loved it! I did not quite have 5 cups of pitted plums so I actually added a peach :) it turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I have never had a plum pie before. I was very pleased with this recipe. I did not make this pie crust as I used a store bought crust. That said, this was absolutely delicious. I loved the crumb crust topping with the lemon zest and the nuts. The nuts added a wonderful texture to the pie (I used almonds because that is what I had). I reduced the sugar about about 50%. As you know sugar is totally a personal preference and I always think pies are too sweet. The pie was perfectly suited to my tasted with 50% of the sugar. The longer this pie cools, the better it sets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I had some pre-made pie crusts on hand, so I used those instead, adding the vanilla to the filling and a bit of lemon juice to the streusel, but I ended up regretting it. The filling had a strong, lingering tartness to it, bordering on sour, which I think would have been better balanced with a sweeter crust. (Or perhaps my plums simply weren't ripe enough...?) I also substituted oats for nuts out of preference, and used a cinnamon and spice mixture instead of nutmeg and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Good thing I followed the ingredients according to list. This portion for crust, this portion for topping, and so on. One could get can confused, need to match instructions with the list. Take on an intuitive approach. I thought the topping/crust were extremely good. Thought the filling was a bit too tart for my taste. Could be the choice of plums that I used or the lemon zest that was instructed to use. So if not preferring that lemon zest taste, then I would suggest excluding it altogether. Or perhaps evening out the taste with a scoop of ice cream or whipped topping. Balance out the tart and sweet. Also would suggest filling pie crust just an inch below edge of crust. When the pie is cooking, it tends to rise. Spilling over a bit. Learned that the hard way but results were fine. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I used a this a lot when plums were in season at the farmers' market. I really like the strudel I top a lot of other pie recipes with it. It was a tad runny so I used a little bit of tapioca pearls to thicken the plum filling, using about 100ml per pie but cook to taste - cooking it right in the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Great recipe. I made this to take to my family thanks giving dinner last night and everybody just loved it. The only thing I would change to this recipe is a little less baking powder and the only thing I did not put in was the hazelnuts, and reason for this is because I had none. Will definitley be baking this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqui Connolly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Fantastic. This got rave reviews across the board. I added corn starch and tapioca pearls to thicken, however I will add a bit more. It was too soft. Also I cut the sugar in half in the filling. However it was still too sweet! I will cut it down even more. Other than that. AMAZING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States