Plum Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Overall I liked this recipe, the method was a good one. I tried this yesterday with wild plums. My plums weren't that sweet but before adding the sugar I researched other recipes and did back off on the sugar. I added 1/2 teas allspice and the recipe turned out well, although slightly loose. I'm doing another batch tonight and putting in about 1 cup sugar per 1 cup fruit. Will add 2 packages pectin instead of one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AnnaLynne
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I used fresh Late Italian Prune plums. Used the 6.5 cups of sugar recommended. The flavor is intense, tart and sweet and the set is perfect. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
OK, if you light your jam runny. For thicker consistency, reverse the timing of Pectin and sugar. Pectin should go in first. I made it both ways and the Pectin first method was much better. I used 7 cups of sugar for 5 cups of plums. Pretty sweet, probably could have used 1/2 cup less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I added 5tbsp of honey and decreased the sugar by half. Turned out beautiful deep, clear purple. Tart and sweet, very good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
This recipe was a GREAT hit!! I made 48 half pint jars. I did increase my plums to 9 cups and decreased the sugar to 6 cups. I added my sugar, butter, and pectin, let it come to a rolling boil (with 220 degree temp) for a few min. Set up wonderful. My family and friends LOVED it. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I made this recipe and I absolutely loved it.. I did add 2 boxes of the pectin rather than 1, but did nothing else different... This made 5 pint jars...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenber
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Very easy recipe to make although mine was more of a jelly than a jam. I didn't let it sit at the rolling boil for long enough I think, but it came out tasting great! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dilworth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
So good! This is the first time I've made and canned plum jam. I made this exactly as the recipe is written except I used pint jars. It turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blaine, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
From reading this recipe, I think the reason people are having set problems is because, according to the folks at the Sure-Jel number, powdered pectin has to go in BEFORE the sugar, or you will get a set fail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Yummy, Yummy, Yummy. I recommend 1 1/2 packages pectin for more of a jam thickness. The recipe made almost 6 jars....not 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States