Plum Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Perfect as is, in my opinion. I read some reviews about using less sugar so I did that on my first batch. It was too tart! The second batch I followed recipe exactly and absolutely love it. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Wow, this is delicious jam. I made several double batches with some Italian plumbs picked from a neighbor's tree. I used two boxes of pectin per recipe and only 3 cups of sugar per recipe. We like our jam tart & our plumbs must've been sweet coming right off the tree. I added a squeeze of fresh lemon to reduce foaming. I also made a batch of syrup by following the recipe exactly the same but using only 1 box of pectin per recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This recipe was great. Followed it exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
So I made this last night and given the fact that this was my first attempt at canning, I basically followed to the letter. I did only use 6 cups of sugar. Seemed sweet enough. But I added my pectin first and then sugar as some of the reviews mentioned trouble with setting. I did, against my better judgement, use only the 1 box of pectin as it states and my jam is almost more of a syrup than a set jam. So I would definitely tweak this to use more pectin. The consensus seems to be 2 boxes. So I'm trying it again with 2 boxes and will have to figure out a use for my 8 jars of syrup. ;) I did add a smidge of cinnamon and it really was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Silva

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
It turned out very well. Everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Very simple and fun recipe! I did add extra pectin and used just 6 cups of sugar as some reviewers recommended. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jetchef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This has become my 'go to' recipe for plum jam! I increase the amount of plums by about a cup and decrease the sugar to 6 cups, but it has always turned out beautifully and is my family's favorite jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Quite sweet, had to cut down the sugar, like the submitter suggested in her review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimée Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
tried this recipe and it set okay b/c I had the mixture at a rolling boil longer than the original recipe calls for, as some reviews advised. but then the flavour fell flat. I am going to try it again and see if I can find that fine line....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
As a beginner in canning this was the most easiest recipe to follow. It also turned out absolutely fantastic! I have to admit I added extra pectin to make set for me. First batch made syrup but will not be wasted in this household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States