Plum Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tammy C. Adkins
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
Definitely making this again. I forgot how much I love plum jam! It was my first time to make plum jam and it turned out GREAT!!! I put the pectin in before the sugar AND 7 1/2 cups of sugar seemed like way too much for me so I added 4 cups instead and it was perfectly sweet enough for me! As for the pectin, I used 6 tablespoons of the Ball brand classic powdered pectin and a tbsp of lemon juice. UPDATE! I want to mention that I used 3 lbs of plums, which turned out to be 8 cups, instead of the 4 and a half cups this recipe calls for for the simple fact that I got 2 different recipes mixed up and didn't realize it until last night when a friend of mine and I made some for her. Regaurdless....it turned out great both times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy C. Adkins
Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
Very easy to make. Delicious. I did use 6 cups of sugarI will us and nextt time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I used yellow plums. It turned out so pretty! The taste is great. I wish it turned out a little thicker. I LOVE it on toast with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
This was a great old fashioned basic plum jam recipe,thanks for sharing! mine set just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I altered the quantities a bit to try and use a full 12- 8oz jar package. 6 3/4 cups of chopped italian prunes. Whole bag of sugar, about 9 cups according to package. 3 packages of Sur-Jell pectin. Cinnamon was nice as other people have mentioned! Turned out 10.5 jars worth. Expected, since I used a little less sugar than the recipe called for. Still very sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Chamberlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paul & shari
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Love this recipe! Thanks for sharing! We tend an apple and plum orchard in NW Idaho and have yellow plums....so that's what we used! Those plus 6 cups of sugar and a dash of pure almond extract! DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paul & shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I think the recipe calls for too much sugar. I quadrupled the recipe and only added 12 cups. And at that it's almost too sweet. It's good though. Nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzy Grace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mcmolliver
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
This was my first ever attempt at jam and it turned out amazing! Our new home has 2 mature plum trees and I hated to see them go to waste as we couldn't eat them fast enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Whew, the growing season is winding down here in western Washington. A certain farmer friend blessed us with 15 gallons of plums. OMIGOODNESS. any how, this recipe is just what the doctor ordered. I like the jam/jelly texture. the flavor is great, color gorgeous. thanks for posting. My extended family will be very happy at Christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Patterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Great base recipe. I added 1 tsp ginger and 1 tsp ground cloves for a little spice. I also cut the sugar and will cut further at my next try. Set up well as long as you bring it back to a full boil after adding pectin for 1 full minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Siebens
Home Town: Oskaloosa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States