Plum-Glazed Cornish Game Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I thought this turned out really well. The plum glaze added a really nice flavor. I might try this again with an apricot glaze. This was my first attempt cooking game hens in the slow cooker and loved the ease and convenience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VALISME
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
First time cooking Cornish Game Hens. Reduced the recipe down to just two birds, but thankfully kept the sauce the same. Mmmmmmm! To reduce fat, I skinned the hens before putting them in the crockpot and put them in breast down to make them extra juicy. Fancy Valentine's Day dinner with little or no extra work! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I didn't have any plum, but I did have cherry perserves. I did everything else the way the recipe said and it was soo tender and falling off the bone. I'm new to slow cooking and this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Amazing! My roommate and I love this recipe. Very easy. I've doubled the plum jam and mixed the opnion soup and red peppers (same amounts) in all together. Glaze 1/3 of the mix in the beginning, 1/3 an hour before, and save 1/3 (microwave for 30-45 seconds) for dipping sauce for the insides of the hens. Also good with peach preserves OR cherry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
We really enjoyed this! SO EASY and very few ingredients. Couldn't find plum jam so used red raspberry. Really delicious. I may use more crushed red pepper the next time, we like the zing. The only thing I did different was salt and pepper the hens before putting them in the slow cooker. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oceankath

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jolena74
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I did the recipe exactly as printed and will probably double the jam next time. It was good, but the hot of the pepper flakes competed too much with the sweet of the jam. The juices made a great gravy with a little corn starch and chicken broth (we had on hand from making risotto). As other reviewers said, it was fall of the bone tender! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolena74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
These hens turned out amazing.,,,,best I've ever made,,,the tangy plum sauce gave it a great flavor. Most tender ever... fall off the bone,,, yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Melang

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I had to use a strawberry-plum-raspberry fruit spread instead of the plum jam, but it has still gave it that slightly sweet flavor. The chicken was literally falling off the bones in the crock pot by dinner time. I did turn the bird juices into a gravy by heating it more on the stove top and adding so cornstarch (that I'd already mixed with water to prevent clumping). After dinner I removed all the bones, skin and grizzle etc so that I can turn it into a biscuits and gravy with mixed vegetables and chicken for tomorrow night (my husband won't eat the same dish twice ... sigh).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I rubbed salt and pepper along with the crushed red pepper flakes on my hens before glazing them with the plum jam/onion soup mix. I was concerned about using the crushed red pepper flakes, but actually didn't notice them when eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Needs salt! Otherwise perfectly tender. MMMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States