Plum Custard Kuchen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
My friends mother made something similar when we were kids. Nothing will ever beat her original recipe which she made with more of a pie or tart crust but this comes pretty close so I have to give it a 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
My friends mother made a plum kuchen when we were kids and nothing can beat her recipe but this comes close enough to earn my 5 stars! As far as the custard part of it...it's not supposed to have alot of custard which would, in my opinion make it way to rich. It is supposed to be a more simple, light dessert. That's the way she says they made it when she grew up in switzerland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Fairfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Loved it! I increased the amount of custard, as recommended by another reviewer, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I used a bunt pan, sugar coated the plums, and double up on the custard but used light cream instead of heavy cream. This is great recipe easy to make, and cake part turned out nice and moist. So I give it a 5 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ildefonso
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This is so simple to make and so much flavor!! I love German recipies and this one fits the bill. I made it with yellow plums. It isn't overly sweet but just enough. I heated it up and served it with whipped cream but it is good cold too. I rated it a 5 mostly for the quality that you get for not too much work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Loved it! I halved the recipe and baked in a loaf pan, next time will follow other users advice and double the custard mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I followed the recipe and everyone loved it. And so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This recipe was excellent! I suggest coating your plums in sugar if they are not very ripe, and definitely double or triple the custard recipe. I served it in a bowl with milk (or ice cream would be good too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I didn't have a 9x9" pan, so I used a small rectangular glass baking dish and it worked fine. I used plums from my garden. This was so easy and such a delight to make. My boyfriend and I love it, just as it is. I don't think it needs more custard, it has just enough to hold it all together. It would be great served with vanilla ice cream I'm sure, but we like it chilled. I have a feeling this may become a holiday favorite if we can find plums in the colder months :) Thank you for posting this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I doubled the custard which is very similar to Creme Brulee. The cake was very moist and all in all, it's now one of my top desserts! My husband asked for to add more plums next time- maybe double up the layer. Can't wait to make it again. Super easy- great choice for dinner parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States