Plum Custard Kuchen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
My friends mother made a plum kuchen when we were kids and nothing can beat her recipe but this comes close enough to earn my 5 stars! As far as the custard part of it...it's not supposed to have alot of custard which would, in my opinion make it way to rich. It is supposed to be a more simple, light dessert. That's the way she says they made it when she grew up in switzerland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Fairfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I used a bunt pan, sugar coated the plums, and double up on the custard but used light cream instead of heavy cream. This is great recipe easy to make, and cake part turned out nice and moist. So I give it a 5 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
I used Pluot Plums on the top. If your plums are getting too ripe - make this dessert. I used to make this dessert with a crumb topping - but this custard version is surprisingly good. I served it warm with vanilla ice cream. We all thought that it reminded us of deep dish rubarb pie. I guess it was the sweet and sour taste. mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
A delicious kuchen if you prefer custard desserts, I thought it was better than the gourmet recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Loved it! I halved the recipe and baked in a loaf pan, next time will follow other users advice and double the custard mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Loved it! I increased the amount of custard, as recommended by another reviewer, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
IF I make this again I would double the custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
I couldn't find fresh plums in the middle of winter, so used canned instead and added the plums with custard at the end. It looked kind of ugly, but tasted good. I will try again with fresh plums when they are in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
My friends mother made something similar when we were kids. Nothing will ever beat her original recipe which she made with more of a pie or tart crust but this comes pretty close so I have to give it a 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This is fantastic. Use Italian plums...these are better for cooking and provide the "tart" to balance the sweetness of the custard. I, too, doubled the custard as recommended and it worked great--just needed extra baking time. Next time I would only use 3/4 cup sugar in the custard, though. A whole cup was too sweet. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States