Plum Custard Kuchen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Loved it! I increased the amount of custard, as recommended by another reviewer, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
My friends mother made a plum kuchen when we were kids and nothing can beat her recipe but this comes close enough to earn my 5 stars! As far as the custard part of it...it's not supposed to have alot of custard which would, in my opinion make it way to rich. It is supposed to be a more simple, light dessert. That's the way she says they made it when she grew up in switzerland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Fairfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
IF I make this again I would double the custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
I tried using both plums and banana for the fruit filling. i liked the banana much better. Also, I added almonds on top of the fruit and topped it with fresh whipped cream flavored with almond extract. it was a great dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
I couldn't find fresh plums in the middle of winter, so used canned instead and added the plums with custard at the end. It looked kind of ugly, but tasted good. I will try again with fresh plums when they are in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
My friends mother made something similar when we were kids. Nothing will ever beat her original recipe which she made with more of a pie or tart crust but this comes pretty close so I have to give it a 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
I used Pluot Plums on the top. If your plums are getting too ripe - make this dessert. I used to make this dessert with a crumb topping - but this custard version is surprisingly good. I served it warm with vanilla ice cream. We all thought that it reminded us of deep dish rubarb pie. I guess it was the sweet and sour taste. mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
A delicious kuchen if you prefer custard desserts, I thought it was better than the gourmet recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States