Plum Custard Kuchen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
The taste was great but the crust was too hard for my liking. Also I followed the recommendation to double the custard which made the cake too soggy and runny, even though I baked it for about 20 minutes longer! all in all, it tasted good but not the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I doubled the custard which is very similar to Creme Brulee. The cake was very moist and all in all, it's now one of my top desserts! My husband asked for to add more plums next time- maybe double up the layer. Can't wait to make it again. Super easy- great choice for dinner parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Where did I go wrong?. The base was like a bread pudding. May be the yellow plums were too ripe and juicy. I doubled the custard as suggested. I increased the cooking time a little. Over all quite a good dessert, although different from what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ildefonso
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This is so simple to make and so much flavor!! I love German recipies and this one fits the bill. I made it with yellow plums. It isn't overly sweet but just enough. I heated it up and served it with whipped cream but it is good cold too. I rated it a 5 mostly for the quality that you get for not too much work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I didn't have a 9x9" pan, so I used a small rectangular glass baking dish and it worked fine. I used plums from my garden. This was so easy and such a delight to make. My boyfriend and I love it, just as it is. I don't think it needs more custard, it has just enough to hold it all together. It would be great served with vanilla ice cream I'm sure, but we like it chilled. I have a feeling this may become a holiday favorite if we can find plums in the colder months :) Thank you for posting this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This recipe was excellent! I suggest coating your plums in sugar if they are not very ripe, and definitely double or triple the custard recipe. I served it in a bowl with milk (or ice cream would be good too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I followed the recipe and everyone loved it. And so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I used a bunt pan, sugar coated the plums, and double up on the custard but used light cream instead of heavy cream. This is great recipe easy to make, and cake part turned out nice and moist. So I give it a 5 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Loved it! I halved the recipe and baked in a loaf pan, next time will follow other users advice and double the custard mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
The crust was a little bit too dry for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vauxhall, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States