Plum Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by BlairSanne
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Overall good. We had small plums, and after counting out 12, I knew that for sure they weren't going to be enough, so I just sort of winged it. I do wish the recipe called for X-cups or something. Pitting/chopping was very time consuming, and messy. But otherwise the recipe was very simple and easy. The crust part turned out really good. Per some other reviewers' suggestions, I added some vanilla and cinnamon to the plums (knowing my audience). Our plums were a bit tart, so I think next time I'll add some extra sugar to them. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlairSanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I made the recipe as directed except I cut down the sugar just a bittle because I only had 8 very ripe plums....it was very good! 12 probably would have been better but the crust turned out crispy and the plums moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
excellent but, I added another beaten egg because the batter seemed too dry. I also used mostly plums but added two ripe peaches and a cup of frozen blueberries. vanilla and or cinnamon might be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Quite good, rather like the dessert often called "French apple pie", just fruit with a light cake-like top. Like others had suggested, I added vanilla, and allspice, and finally, sprinkled the topping with brown sugar. It took about 45 minutes to bake; top had a very thin crunchy layer but airy cake under it. My plums were small, and tart; I used15 of them, due to their smaller size. The finished product was a good blend of a tart fruit bottom and sweet cakey top. Definitely plan to serve this with vanilla ice cream, whipped cream, or even a mild pouring custard; you'll find it far more delightful that way! It kept well for two days, but then put it, covered, in the fridge, and it went downhill within 10 hours: got a bit mushy and too moist. Will make it again when I have too many plums, nectarines, or peaches, and will add more allspice to the fruit before putting on the topping layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Very easy! Only had six plums so added a bit less sugar coating to the plums and a bit less butter. Didn't halve it though hahaha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Wonderful! Works well with nectarines too (ran out of plums and added nectarines)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Used 8 plums and cut sugar by 1/4 cup. Added a few shakes of cinnamon and some vanilla. Think for my taste next time I would add 1/4 t. almond extract as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This was so simple to make and it taste great! Thank you for posting it. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
The flavor was great, tart and sweet. I should have had some nice vanilla ice cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by biggirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Leandro, California, USA
Living In: Union City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Came out perfectly the first time; a very simple and VERY yummy recipe. I found I needed about 55 minutes to brown the crust. I'm already getting requests to make another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States