Plum Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I loved the taste but did change a couple things. I didn't put the 1/4 cup sugar over the plums as the plums I used were sweet enough. As well, I found the 1/2 cup butter to be a bit much; 1/3 butter drizzled over the entire top was enough. It was delicious and it will definitely be a go-to dessert recipe for me. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BlairSanne
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Overall good. We had small plums, and after counting out 12, I knew that for sure they weren't going to be enough, so I just sort of winged it. I do wish the recipe called for X-cups or something. Pitting/chopping was very time consuming, and messy. But otherwise the recipe was very simple and easy. The crust part turned out really good. Per some other reviewers' suggestions, I added some vanilla and cinnamon to the plums (knowing my audience). Our plums were a bit tart, so I think next time I'll add some extra sugar to them. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlairSanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I made the recipe as directed except I cut down the sugar just a bittle because I only had 8 very ripe plums....it was very good! 12 probably would have been better but the crust turned out crispy and the plums moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
excellent but, I added another beaten egg because the batter seemed too dry. I also used mostly plums but added two ripe peaches and a cup of frozen blueberries. vanilla and or cinnamon might be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Quite good, rather like the dessert often called "French apple pie", just fruit with a light cake-like top. Like others had suggested, I added vanilla, and allspice, and finally, sprinkled the topping with brown sugar. It took about 45 minutes to bake; top had a very thin crunchy layer but airy cake under it. My plums were small, and tart; I used15 of them, due to their smaller size. The finished product was a good blend of a tart fruit bottom and sweet cakey top. Definitely plan to serve this with vanilla ice cream, whipped cream, or even a mild pouring custard; you'll find it far more delightful that way! It kept well for two days, but then put it, covered, in the fridge, and it went downhill within 10 hours: got a bit mushy and too moist. Will make it again when I have too many plums, nectarines, or peaches, and will add more allspice to the fruit before putting on the topping layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Very easy! Only had six plums so added a bit less sugar coating to the plums and a bit less butter. Didn't halve it though hahaha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Wonderful! Works well with nectarines too (ran out of plums and added nectarines)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Used 8 plums and cut sugar by 1/4 cup. Added a few shakes of cinnamon and some vanilla. Think for my taste next time I would add 1/4 t. almond extract as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This was so simple to make and it taste great! Thank you for posting it. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States