Plum Chipotle Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Yummy! I made this recipe and it ended up filling 8 small freezer/canning containers. Used some as a BBQ sauce on baked chicken - excellent! I did substitute 1T pure chipotle powder from Penzey's for the seasoning mix. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Loved it. I pureed my plums and then put them through a sieve really only straining out the skins. I used chipotle powder. I'm not a canner so I'm going to freeze my leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I made this last week, I didnt have any chipotle seasoning so I used a few tablespoons of the canned chipotle peppers, this is so very yummy, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
So delicious! I sort of winged it with the ingredients because my household likes both spice and garlic, so I went a little crazier with the chipotle. Like another reviewer, I didn't have any chipotle seasoning, so I used chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, and that gave it a HUGE kick. My only complaint is that there isn't more, because I was planning on giving some away, but now I want to keep it all to myself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Just had enough plums to make one cup of juice, so I adjusted the recipe and simmered some pork chops in it. It was delicious! I would love to try jarring a large amount someday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Great taste however i would like it a little bit thicker,next time i will try to use pectine to get that result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigi Peeters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Very good. I was pleasantly surprised. Not to sweet, with just a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Parker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This recipe worked really well fresh over baked pork chops. I reduced the ammount to 2 servings per pork chop and replaced the chipotle seasoning and jalapeno with oven roasted jalapenos in equal proportion to the plums. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This recipe is awesome. I too used chipotle in adobo sauce and had some jalapeno's canned in vinegar, so just used the vinegar from the jar in place of the jalapeno and vinegar (already hot)! I originally misread the directions and left this on this stove for about 1/2 a day or so and it ended up really thick. Excellent for BBQ sauce. We BBQ'd prawns and my son-in-law from Hawaii dipped his prawns and then ate the rest with his fingers! He couldn't get enough. My plums are starting to get ripe again this year and I already have requests for jars of this sauce! It is great! I too did not make enough because I definitely did not end up with any left over for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Wow, I was skeptical with the interesting ingredient list, but this is AMAZING! The only thing I did differently was I juiced the plums via boiling in a small amount of water. I find it to be a more effective method to extract the juice. It also left me with lots of extra juice for jelly - or maybe to make another batch of sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States