Plum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
Thank you for the recipe. The cake was very easy to make. I liked that it was light and not very sweet. I served it reheated with some apple pie ice cream (limited edition from Edy's) and vanilla ice cream. Here are some tiny changes I made: 4 eggs instead of 3, because I had one leftover, light brown sugar instead of white sugar, I added some spices like cinnamon, nutmeg and 1 tsp. vanilla. I mixed the lemon zest with the plums instead and coated them with a little bit brown sugar, which made them sweeter and look glossy at the end. I didn't know what a tube pan was, so I used my pie form. It looked pretty (rustic) and I will definetly make it again in the next days, but with asian pears. I will report on how it turned out. Hope that helped. :) Update: I did make a cake with asian pears but I used a new recipe for a walnut pie crust (interesting recipe). Just wanted to let you know that the pears baked beautifully, in case you were curious. I was very surprised how firm they stayed. I expected them to turn out soft and soggy because of their high water content. The flavor was mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I added a struesel topping and added cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter. there was only one problem - I only made one!!!! Everyone loved it and wanted me to make another!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2001
One of my husband's favorite food. I too added sugar on top of the cake to add sweetness (brown sugar). I don't have to worry about refridgerating this cake, it's gone in a flash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2000
The cake is very good although I usually don't make recipes that reuire stiffening egg whites. The cake is light and sweet, not heavy. However, the skins on my plums are sour and I need to sweeten them to make it a better tasting recipe. I sprinkled powdered sugar on them and it helped a little. Again, very good overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
This cake is so yummy and light. It's perfect for a summer evening. My husband LOVED it and he doesn't usually care for desserts. The only change I made was to include some brown sugar with the plum layer and I used an 8inch cake pan (I don't have a tube pan). But it still came out wonderfully. I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I'm not sure why this is getting such rave reviews. No one in my house really liked this much. Maybe if you put in other fruits in addition to plums it would be better. I made it just as directed, but in a bunt pan. Guess I'm still looking for a way to use up those extra plums.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Very good cake! Reminds me a lot of my Mom's Pflaumenkuchen. I made it in a springform pan and sprinkled some cinnamon on the batter before laying the plums on their sides. Right before I put it in the oven I sprinkled with some sugar and then 5 minutes before it was done I sprinkled a little more sugar over to form a little crust over the cake. I did not separate the eggs, I just added them whole to the butter and sugar and mix them in well. =) ****** Update: I made it again and used only 2 eggs which made the dough less rubbery and also added in about 1/4 tsp. of salt. Put fresh peach slices on top this time. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sskemble

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This cake is delicious! I used a bread pan, as I didn't have a round cake pan, and it came out lovely. It may not appear to pretty on top, but the combination of sweet, juicy plums with the cake batter was excellent! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Kapaa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
Very good recipe. Enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BunmiQuebec
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Great recipe! My husband and toddler both loved it. It'd be great with vanilla ice-cream because it isn't too sweet. I used an electric hand mixer to beat the eggs (very easy) and baked it a regular 9 in round cake pan. I also made the following changes: -1/2 white flour, 1/2 whole wheat -added 1.5 tsp of vanilla -a couple pinches of salt -1/2 cup apple puree -half of the butter the recipe called for -soak plums in some cinnamon, manischewitz (any sweet wine would work), and cinnamon -sprinkled with a a bit of sugar at the end for sparkles sake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BunmiQuebec

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States