Plum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
How about changing the name to DISAPPEARING Plum Cake?!? This always disappears the same day I bake it. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I used a bunt pan for this recipe, and sugar coated the plums before baking. The lemon zest add a nice flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This cake is delicious! I used a bread pan, as I didn't have a round cake pan, and it came out lovely. It may not appear to pretty on top, but the combination of sweet, juicy plums with the cake batter was excellent! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Kapaa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Not worth it. I can think of better things to bake using plums
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
I made this with Shiro plums (yellow/gold). I have a tree that is just loaded. It was absolutely wonderful! I followed the recipe exact, except I used as many plums as I could fit (about 2 1/2 cups)and sprinkled a little brown sugar and cinnamon on top. I served it warm with a little butterscotch ripple ice cream. My whole family wanted seconds...and thirds. I definitely found one way to use all these plums. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
The cake itself was very very dry and even after coating the plums in brown sugar and 1/2 tsp of almond extract and serving it with ice cream, I feel this recipe was not something I would bother with again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
Just to let you know I had to change the serving size at the bottom of the screen because its only me and my boyfriend. I feel it was kind of bland and the plum skins too tart. If I would hve added more suger it would have been better. I will try it again but this time add some brown sugar and perhaps use a peach or an apple. Maybe since I didn't use the original 14 servings I didn't get a better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
Thank you for the recipe. The cake was very easy to make. I liked that it was light and not very sweet. I served it reheated with some apple pie ice cream (limited edition from Edy's) and vanilla ice cream. Here are some tiny changes I made: 4 eggs instead of 3, because I had one leftover, light brown sugar instead of white sugar, I added some spices like cinnamon, nutmeg and 1 tsp. vanilla. I mixed the lemon zest with the plums instead and coated them with a little bit brown sugar, which made them sweeter and look glossy at the end. I didn't know what a tube pan was, so I used my pie form. It looked pretty (rustic) and I will definetly make it again in the next days, but with asian pears. I will report on how it turned out. Hope that helped. :) Update: I did make a cake with asian pears but I used a new recipe for a walnut pie crust (interesting recipe). Just wanted to let you know that the pears baked beautifully, in case you were curious. I was very surprised how firm they stayed. I expected them to turn out soft and soggy because of their high water content. The flavor was mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
For the amount of work (beating egg whites is pretty rare in my repertoire), it's only a decent cake. The texture is quite nice, but the flavor is somewhat lacking and the presentation isn't too attractive, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
This cake is so yummy and light. It's perfect for a summer evening. My husband LOVED it and he doesn't usually care for desserts. The only change I made was to include some brown sugar with the plum layer and I used an 8inch cake pan (I don't have a tube pan). But it still came out wonderfully. I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States