Plum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2001
One of my husband's favorite food. I too added sugar on top of the cake to add sweetness (brown sugar). I don't have to worry about refridgerating this cake, it's gone in a flash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
Very good recipe. Enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This cake is delicious! I used a bread pan, as I didn't have a round cake pan, and it came out lovely. It may not appear to pretty on top, but the combination of sweet, juicy plums with the cake batter was excellent! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Kapaa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
Delicious! The plums I had were a little tart and the contrast with the batter was exquisite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
Excellent recipe! The whole family loved it. I did sprinkle the top with brown sugar. Next time, I will add more plums. Recipe would be even yummier with many more plums. Jennifer :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
This cake is so yummy and light. It's perfect for a summer evening. My husband LOVED it and he doesn't usually care for desserts. The only change I made was to include some brown sugar with the plum layer and I used an 8inch cake pan (I don't have a tube pan). But it still came out wonderfully. I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
I made this with Shiro plums (yellow/gold). I have a tree that is just loaded. It was absolutely wonderful! I followed the recipe exact, except I used as many plums as I could fit (about 2 1/2 cups)and sprinkled a little brown sugar and cinnamon on top. I served it warm with a little butterscotch ripple ice cream. My whole family wanted seconds...and thirds. I definitely found one way to use all these plums. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I used a bunt pan for this recipe, and sugar coated the plums before baking. The lemon zest add a nice flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
How about changing the name to DISAPPEARING Plum Cake?!? This always disappears the same day I bake it. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Fantastic cake!! Easy to make and very light and yummy!! I've made it twice for company and everyone loved it. I'll be making this often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, New York, USA
Living In: Deer Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States