Plum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Very good cake! Reminds me a lot of my Mom's Pflaumenkuchen. I made it in a springform pan and sprinkled some cinnamon on the batter before laying the plums on their sides. Right before I put it in the oven I sprinkled with some sugar and then 5 minutes before it was done I sprinkled a little more sugar over to form a little crust over the cake. I did not separate the eggs, I just added them whole to the butter and sugar and mix them in well. =) ****** Update: I made it again and used only 2 eggs which made the dough less rubbery and also added in about 1/4 tsp. of salt. Put fresh peach slices on top this time. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sskemble

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Love the flavor. I thought the sweetness was just right, but I left out a bowl of powdered sugar for those who wanted more. Also, I have a couple of kids who I knew would balk at seeing the plums, so I pureed them and poured them on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I really liked this cake. It wasn't a very sweet cake, which I loved, and I really enjoyed it with some whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Easley, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This was easy to make and rustic, yet elegant looking. I used a springform pan, which worked very well. I also added maybe a tbsp of fresh lemon juice, and used some extra plum slices, layering them in the center of the cake. Served it with Sunday brunch. It is not a sweet cake, but it is definitely a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I added a struesel topping and added cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter. there was only one problem - I only made one!!!! Everyone loved it and wanted me to make another!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Oh, thanks! The whole family really enjoyed. Definitely a keeper...Monica
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Really enjoyed this recipe. I also added about 1 teaspoon of lemon juice to the batter- turned out beautifully. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harare, Harare, Zimbabwe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BunmiQuebec
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Great recipe! My husband and toddler both loved it. It'd be great with vanilla ice-cream because it isn't too sweet. I used an electric hand mixer to beat the eggs (very easy) and baked it a regular 9 in round cake pan. I also made the following changes: -1/2 white flour, 1/2 whole wheat -added 1.5 tsp of vanilla -a couple pinches of salt -1/2 cup apple puree -half of the butter the recipe called for -soak plums in some cinnamon, manischewitz (any sweet wine would work), and cinnamon -sprinkled with a a bit of sugar at the end for sparkles sake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BunmiQuebec

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Fantastic cake!! Easy to make and very light and yummy!! I've made it twice for company and everyone loved it. I'll be making this often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, New York, USA
Living In: Deer Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I'm not sure why this is getting such rave reviews. No one in my house really liked this much. Maybe if you put in other fruits in addition to plums it would be better. I made it just as directed, but in a bunt pan. Guess I'm still looking for a way to use up those extra plums.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States