Plum Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Made this tonight for my DH and SIL, (sorry I don't care for desserts). They both gave this a solid 5 stars and said that it was really delicious. DH really wanted a second piece but he was already too full. I made this recipe exactly as posted. Thanks so much for posting this recipe. I will keep it in regular rotation, as it was fairly easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Excellent plain or with vanilla ice cream! I'd recommend adding the milk one cup at a time so it doesn't splash everywhere when you mix it in. I'd also suggest not softening the butter in the topping and just cutting it into the mixed dry ingredients instead. If it's soft, then the topping is very gooey and not crumbly at all. Tastes fine either way, but it's just hard to glop the topping on the top of the batter if it's gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I was looking for a new way to use our plums when I came across this recipe. This is the best plum desert I've had in a long time and everyone I fed it to thought it was fantastic. I did have to make one change thou, I had to bake it an additional 10 minutes as the center wasn't done. I will diffinently use this one again next year when my plums are ready. Thanks for sharing Mark
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Somebody complained about the taste of baking soda. I can't see anywhere in the recipe where it calls for baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I have never taken the time to rate a recipe, but this one is so good I had to. I will definately be making it again (and would probably be good with many other kinds of fruit as well). The cake is nice and fluffy with a good flavor. The only change I made was a substituted part of the white sugar in the topping with brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
We could taste the baking soda in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Delicious! Didn't change a thing, and didn't need to! Sweet, tart, crispy and soft all in one pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This is delicious! I would have given it 5 stars, but I had to nearly double the cooking time. It is worth the extra time it takes to bake. When my husband tried it, his eyes got big and said, "Do you have any extra plums?!" So I'll be making another one today and will freeze it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Made this withfresh plums that had to be used up. OMG it was delicious! I served it warm with a bit of whipped cream on the side. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Just had a slice out of the oven and this was bursting with fruity goodness. It uses a LOT of plums, so you may want to cut to 6 cups. Butter can be replaced with oil, and oil and sugar can all be cut by 30% without affecting taste in the least. This would be fabulous hot with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Cookie-Crusted Peach Cobbler

What's cooking in Hagerstown? Cindy's ultimate summer dessert, peach cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States