Plum Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I've never reviewed before but this was AMAZING! My husband loved it - the taste, the textures, he's raving and he doesn't really like desserts. Made couple of tweaks - our raspberries just ripened so added some of those to the plums. I also added the zest of an orange and half the juice from it when I added the milk - gave it a nice edge. Also used golden castor sugar as someone recommended using brown (good tip thanks). Used about 2/3 of the topping and might use less sugar next time. Cooked it for about half an hour extra as had rectangular dish. Thank goodness it's so filling so we can't eat it all in one sitting!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Can you say FANTASTIC??? My family purchased a case of plums for very cheap. I decided to try this recipe after we got tired of eating them plain. So good!!!! I will be making this again, and will be trying it with other fruit as well. I alternated the flour and milk when I mixed it, and eliminated the mess that others spoke of. I might add some sugar to the fruit the next time, but only because prefer my fruit sweetened. Also make sure your using baking powder instead of the soda that another reviewer mentioned. But DELICIOUS! You must try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This was delicious and easy to make. We ate it hot right out of the oven. I purchased a 30 oz can of plums and was looking for a plum dessert to use them in when I came across this one. I had one can of plums so I cut the recipe in half and baked in a 9 x 9 glass dish. It still took 45 minutes to bake. I did everthing else the same, but used brown sugar instead of white in the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
We could taste the baking soda in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Delicious! Didn't change a thing, and didn't need to! Sweet, tart, crispy and soft all in one pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
this is an awesome recipe not to dry or anything undesirable as far as cakes go I personally love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Mine came out very dry. However it smelt wonderful. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This was very good! I made with plums off our tree and received many complements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I made this with some overripe nectarines and plums from our tree. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I have never taken the time to rate a recipe, but this one is so good I had to. I will definately be making it again (and would probably be good with many other kinds of fruit as well). The cake is nice and fluffy with a good flavor. The only change I made was a substituted part of the white sugar in the topping with brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Cookie-Crusted Peach Cobbler

What's cooking in Hagerstown? Cindy's ultimate summer dessert, peach cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States