Plum Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
My boyfriend loved this recipe. He told me he loves plum cake and this ended up being the first attempt mainly because it looked simple and didn't require fancy pans I don't own. That being said, the sweetness of this cake balances really well with the tartness of the plums. Divine! Note: I do not keep white sugar on hand. I can't say for sure that the raw cane sugar I use made it better, however, typical results of the raw sugar includes a slightly more brown sugar taste and more moisture. Therefore, the cake baked a minute or two closer to the maximum time, perhaps a little past (I lost track). The taste came out phenomenal so I will say with confidence that if you even simply like the idea of the raw cane sugar--go for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ady925
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
The Best cake. Add vanilla ice cream on the side and it's off the charts. I don't use white flour or white sugar, so I replaced it with whole wheat flour and coconut sugar from trader joes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Just made this.my hubby loved it.Everthing is fine with this recipe, just follow the instructions.taking advice of other viewers i used cold butter for the crumb topping, topping thankfully I did & it set into a beautiful golden brown top, cake like.Also this took an additional 15min. (45+)to fully bake, else the centre wouldn't be completely baked.Also I used 1cup blueberries (frozen), as I was little short of plums.the combination was fine.I did bake it in 9by13 glass dish &it looked beautiful. My advice use cold butter for top crumb &itll set beautifully because the bottom is already mushy/gooey u will want a firm top, else everything will be a mess . Thanks pretty kitten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gsooo1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Very delicious and easy! We ate half of it in one sitting. Made this for my in laws and their kids and everyone loved it! Will be making this again and again!! Thx for posting! -Irina
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
awesome! i added some frozen blueberries (about a cup) to it and it is to die for! a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Great way to use up tart plums!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
To the person who couldn't find baking soda anywhere in the recipe, baking powder is nothing but baking soda with cream of tartar mixed in. That is probably why they tasted baking soda. The recipe is excellent as posted! Try making sure baking powder does not have lumps in it. Sometimes lumps do not get distributed all the way and gather in one bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
It was good. I changed a few things - I put 1/2 cup of honey directly over the plums and reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup in the batter. I think the cake would have been just fine without the topping. Next time, I won't make the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I had an excess of plums from our backyard and wanted to make something tasty with them. I found this recipe, made it just as instructed, and my family is devouring it! This is a great recipe and I will deifnitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
it's ok, not fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Cookie-Crusted Peach Cobbler

What's cooking in Hagerstown? Cindy's ultimate summer dessert, peach cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States