Plum Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Good flavour, and a great way to use sour plums! Loved the crunchy baked topping! My guests all enjoyed the dessert as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Just had a slice out of the oven and this was bursting with fruity goodness. It uses a LOT of plums, so you may want to cut to 6 cups. Butter can be replaced with oil, and oil and sugar can all be cut by 30% without affecting taste in the least. This would be fabulous hot with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Somebody complained about the taste of baking soda. I can't see anywhere in the recipe where it calls for baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This was great and super easy. I cut the amount of sugar in the cake in half and only used 3/4 cup butter in the cake and 1/4 cup in the topping. I used 6 very ripe plums. I also increased the vanilla to 3 tbsp and added 1 tbsp of nutmeg to the cake batter. IT WAS AMAZING warm with some vanilla ice cream I WILL be making this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Made this withfresh plums that had to be used up. OMG it was delicious! I served it warm with a bit of whipped cream on the side. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This was quite good - like many others, I had a bunch of plums that were going soft and needed to be used. The fruit part of the cake was quite tart, I might add a bit of sugar next time. The cake was very good, but the cinnamon topping was not crumbly for some reason - it went on gooey. I was expecting it to be more like a coffee cake topping. I found it definitely benefited from vanilla ice cream...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Easy-I was concerned how it would flip out of baking pan-I used 2 smaller baking pans -one to keep and one to share-flipped first to cutting board and then to plate- So good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Great! I needed a use for all the small plums we had. This recipe was easy and even my 6 yr. old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Delicious and moist. Made this because I had plums I didn't know what to do with. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
just got done eating a piece! I will just say it is yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Cookie-Crusted Peach Cobbler

What's cooking in Hagerstown? Cindy's ultimate summer dessert, peach cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States