Plum Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This bread is so versatile. When I did not have plums I've used over-ripe mashed bananas with or without softened chopped dates, or I've used regular applesauce and added a packet of unsweetened strawberry Kool-Aid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I did 2/3 of the recipe and it was just enough batter for a regular 1.5qt bread pan. I also just blended up frozen prune plums instead of the baby food, and it didn't mess up the consistency by making it too watery. The flavor is really nice, I liked the combination with the lemon icing. It also has just the right amount of spices. Definitely a recipe I will refer back to when I feel the need to use up more of my prunes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Kid approved... I made these into muffins, and my kids thought they were great. I did make a few changes. I reduced the oil to 1/2 cup, and used 1 and 1/2 cups of pureed plums. I also added a cup of oatmeal. We have a lot of plum trees in our yard, so I keep frozen puree in our freezer to make this delicious recipe all winter long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
One of the BEST!! I have made this countless times using my own canned plum butter and top it off with the Caramel Frosting VI recipe (it's more like a caramel glaze) while the cake is still hot and let it sit in the pan until it's cool (if we can wait that long!). My mother-in-law RAVES over this combo so I make it for her birthday every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I made this last night and brought it to work this morning. It is almost gone at 8AM and the office reviews were "outstanding" I could not find the baby food plum after going to 4 different stores, but I did find baby food "pears and blueberries" together in a 6oz jar which is now my secret ingredient...........I suppose you could use any fruit or combination, but I will keep searching for the plum! The topping adds a nice zing to it......... Charbosrunning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I changed it a little. I put one and 1/2 cups of plum preserve I made with red plums, and instead of walnuts I chopped up the red plums and mixed them inside the batter. (I also nixed the red food coloring). After pouring the batter I spooned several t spoons of the plum preserve on top and swirled in a design. I nixed the sugar topping because it was sweet with the preserve and a bit tart as well. I scooped vanilla ice cream on top and it was done. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
this was great! i added tea (instead of cloves and nutmeg) to both the frosting/sauce and the batter, which i thought was delicious. it's best in small doses, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
I made muffins and mini muffins. Instead of making the lemon juice and powdered sugar, I used cream cheese frosting. They were gobbled up. I couldn't eat nuts, but next time I'll put them in everyone elses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsqueaky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
Oh so delicious. I definitely recommend very ripe plums instead of the babyfood. i used about 1 1/4 cups plum puree. this recipe is also delicious for muffins. mmmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States