Plum Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Maddy Manfredonia
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I made this and it turned out AWESOME. I didn't not purée the plums, I just cut them up and put it into a mixing bowl with the wet ingredients. I doubled the plums added. I did not add the cloves either. I did not have vegetable oil so I made them with 2 sticks of butter. But even with these changes, the muffins turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maddy Manfredonia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I've made this once as as a bread and once as muffins (more like cupcakes). I think I preferred the bread but both were good. For the muffins I baked at the same temp but for 27-28 minutes. I wasn't sure if I should grease and flour the muffin tin like I did the bundt pan so I did some that way and some with muffin tin liners, the liners worked better. Good way to use up an excess of plums from the csa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I used 1 1/2 cups of purred ripe plums with 1/2 cup oil and no food colouring Turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This is delicious......taste and smells like Christmas! I have a son with a nut allergy so I left those out....and i could not find any plum baby food so I just pureed fresh plums and it was perfect!!! By far the best plum bread recipe I've ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda key

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I had lots of leftover plums from a Bountiful Basket. So I peeled and pureed them. I only had fresh clove and nutmeg so I used less then called for so the flavors were not overwhelming. I also left out the food coloring and nuts. I don't have a bunt pan so I used a 9x12 pan and it only took 40 min to cook. Turned out great for my very first, from scratch, cake. I love the lemon icing. I shared it at my office and it went over very well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Sidney, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Very good! I followed the cake recipe exactly. I left off the glaze. We thought the cake was good as is. I want to try it again with subbing applesauce for the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Awesome! I gave it only 4 stars because i used actual pureed plums instead of baby food. I only made half the recipe but i got 8 good muffins out of it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eugenia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Swampscott, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Unfortunately, I won't be making this again. I followed the reviews of cooks who used fresh plums and ran them through the blender, used 1.5 cups of blended plums, cut the oil to 1/2 cup, and baked it as directed. While the flavour was nice, the texture was quite soggy....sigh. I was so hopeful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This is so delicious. Sometimes just for a quick after dinner dessert, I will hold off adding any of the spices. It makes for a great sweet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Everyone I made this cake cor loves it! I did change a couple of things, Instead of Baby Food I used a full 12 oz can of Solo Prune Plum Cake and Pastry filling and did not add any food coloring! I also made a batch with Solo Apricot cake and pastry filling! It was not fruity enough but was very good also! More like a Spice cake than an Apricot cake ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States