Plum Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I've made this once as as a bread and once as muffins (more like cupcakes). I think I preferred the bread but both were good. For the muffins I baked at the same temp but for 27-28 minutes. I wasn't sure if I should grease and flour the muffin tin like I did the bundt pan so I did some that way and some with muffin tin liners, the liners worked better. Good way to use up an excess of plums from the csa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I used 1 1/2 cups of purred ripe plums with 1/2 cup oil and no food colouring Turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This is delicious......taste and smells like Christmas! I have a son with a nut allergy so I left those out....and i could not find any plum baby food so I just pureed fresh plums and it was perfect!!! By far the best plum bread recipe I've ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda key

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I had lots of leftover plums from a Bountiful Basket. So I peeled and pureed them. I only had fresh clove and nutmeg so I used less then called for so the flavors were not overwhelming. I also left out the food coloring and nuts. I don't have a bunt pan so I used a 9x12 pan and it only took 40 min to cook. Turned out great for my very first, from scratch, cake. I love the lemon icing. I shared it at my office and it went over very well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Sidney, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Very good! I followed the cake recipe exactly. I left off the glaze. We thought the cake was good as is. I want to try it again with subbing applesauce for the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Awesome! I gave it only 4 stars because i used actual pureed plums instead of baby food. I only made half the recipe but i got 8 good muffins out of it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eugenia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Swampscott, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Unfortunately, I won't be making this again. I followed the reviews of cooks who used fresh plums and ran them through the blender, used 1.5 cups of blended plums, cut the oil to 1/2 cup, and baked it as directed. While the flavour was nice, the texture was quite soggy....sigh. I was so hopeful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This is so delicious. Sometimes just for a quick after dinner dessert, I will hold off adding any of the spices. It makes for a great sweet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Everyone I made this cake cor loves it! I did change a couple of things, Instead of Baby Food I used a full 12 oz can of Solo Prune Plum Cake and Pastry filling and did not add any food coloring! I also made a batch with Solo Apricot cake and pastry filling! It was not fruity enough but was very good also! More like a Spice cake than an Apricot cake ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I really didn't like this recipe. I followed recipe exactly, except that i substituted real plums for plum baby food, and i omitted the nuts. This recipe didn't have much flavor, and where it did, the flavors didn't work. It's too bad. I was really looking forward to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States