Plum Blueberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This is delicious....it looks so appetizing and it tastes wonderful with the combination of plums and blueberries. It makes a beautiful presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
My family absolutely loved this! It was gone within a few hours! :) so easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa O'Neill
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Excellent to make gluten free too. Fruits blend nicely for a cake that is not too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa O'Neill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by princessmommy73
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I made this recipe today. I bake quite a bit but this was my first go at an upside down cake. I subbed butter for margarine and I added some cinnamon to the flour mixture. My store was clear out of plums so I used apricots and blueberries. I had to bake a total of 50 minutes until my cake tester came out clean. I let it sit the 15 minutes stated in the recipe after coming out of the oven. It popped right out of my pan when I inverted it! I had sprayed a 9 inch cake pan with butter flavored cooking spray. I will make this again with whatever fruit is in season! I can't wait to try it with thinly sliced apples in the fall after we go apple picking and have an over abundance of apples!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lizziebella
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Turned out fabulously! My boyfriend has a dairy allergy so I used almond milk and vegan margarine. Loved how pretty it looked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by namelessunday
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
The first time I made this cake I omitted the blueberries and used Santa Barbara plums.. it was superb. Since then I've made it with blueberries included, with pineapples, with nectarines, peaches, and several different kinds of plums. I use almond milk since I am dairy free and it comes out excellently. Did I mention I first made it two months ago? I've made this cake literally dozens of times since. The plum and blueberry combination is great but the cake base is very very versatile. I've memorized it and it is my go-to. Definitely worth a try. A+.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I've made this a number of times and it never fails to disappear too quickly. This time I made it w/a gluten-free flour and lemon extract instead of vanilla. Also greased the pan w/coconut oil. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Just made this cake with these modifications: Doubled the brown sugar and used butter instead of margarine, added fresh blueberries, lemon zest and nutmeg to the batter, Substituted sour cream for milk and used an abundance of red plums. Previous comments were very helpful. Cake turned out great-very moist, light, lemony flavor. After 40 minutes cake appeared done when poked with toothpick on the bottom. After flipping the cake I found it was not done-very gooey so I put it back in the oven for another 30-35 minutes before it passed the toothpick test. Might have been the juiciness of the fruit. In the end it turned out very good. Might want to monitor cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Excellent! My husband loved this recipe. I didn't have plums, so I used extra frozen blueberries. The only other alterations I made were to use butter instead of margarine, double the butter and brown sugar per other reviewers recommendations, and add a teaspoon of cinnamon to the dry ingredients. I also always make my upside-down cakes in a cast iron skillet for crispy edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
excellent cake. I made it with a combination of plums and nectarines and it was great. I think you can safely use any fruit you have at home with this recipe and have a great result. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States