Plum Blueberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
Very very good. Instead of melting the butter and sugar in a springform pan, I used a cast iron skillet and cooked it over the stove, then baked the cake in the skillet. I also doubled the butter and brown sugar. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Perfect. Loved it, loved it. Have made several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MissK2013
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Delicious!!!! I followed the recipe exactly and everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
It was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This is delicious....it looks so appetizing and it tastes wonderful with the combination of plums and blueberries. It makes a beautiful presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
My family absolutely loved this! It was gone within a few hours! :) so easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa O'Neill
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Excellent to make gluten free too. Fruits blend nicely for a cake that is not too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa O'Neill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by princessmommy73
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I made this recipe today. I bake quite a bit but this was my first go at an upside down cake. I subbed butter for margarine and I added some cinnamon to the flour mixture. My store was clear out of plums so I used apricots and blueberries. I had to bake a total of 50 minutes until my cake tester came out clean. I let it sit the 15 minutes stated in the recipe after coming out of the oven. It popped right out of my pan when I inverted it! I had sprayed a 9 inch cake pan with butter flavored cooking spray. I will make this again with whatever fruit is in season! I can't wait to try it with thinly sliced apples in the fall after we go apple picking and have an over abundance of apples!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lizziebella
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Turned out fabulously! My boyfriend has a dairy allergy so I used almond milk and vegan margarine. Loved how pretty it looked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by namelessunday
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
The first time I made this cake I omitted the blueberries and used Santa Barbara plums.. it was superb. Since then I've made it with blueberries included, with pineapples, with nectarines, peaches, and several different kinds of plums. I use almond milk since I am dairy free and it comes out excellently. Did I mention I first made it two months ago? I've made this cake literally dozens of times since. The plum and blueberry combination is great but the cake base is very very versatile. I've memorized it and it is my go-to. Definitely worth a try. A+.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States