Plum Blueberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lizziebella
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Turned out fabulously! My boyfriend has a dairy allergy so I used almond milk and vegan margarine. Loved how pretty it looked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by namelessunday
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
The first time I made this cake I omitted the blueberries and used Santa Barbara plums.. it was superb. Since then I've made it with blueberries included, with pineapples, with nectarines, peaches, and several different kinds of plums. I use almond milk since I am dairy free and it comes out excellently. Did I mention I first made it two months ago? I've made this cake literally dozens of times since. The plum and blueberry combination is great but the cake base is very very versatile. I've memorized it and it is my go-to. Definitely worth a try. A+.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I've made this a number of times and it never fails to disappear too quickly. This time I made it w/a gluten-free flour and lemon extract instead of vanilla. Also greased the pan w/coconut oil. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Just made this cake with these modifications: Doubled the brown sugar and used butter instead of margarine, added fresh blueberries, lemon zest and nutmeg to the batter, Substituted sour cream for milk and used an abundance of red plums. Previous comments were very helpful. Cake turned out great-very moist, light, lemony flavor. After 40 minutes cake appeared done when poked with toothpick on the bottom. After flipping the cake I found it was not done-very gooey so I put it back in the oven for another 30-35 minutes before it passed the toothpick test. Might have been the juiciness of the fruit. In the end it turned out very good. Might want to monitor cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Excellent! My husband loved this recipe. I didn't have plums, so I used extra frozen blueberries. The only other alterations I made were to use butter instead of margarine, double the butter and brown sugar per other reviewers recommendations, and add a teaspoon of cinnamon to the dry ingredients. I also always make my upside-down cakes in a cast iron skillet for crispy edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
excellent cake. I made it with a combination of plums and nectarines and it was great. I think you can safely use any fruit you have at home with this recipe and have a great result. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Yummy. Just enough moisture / fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I doubled the brown sugar and used all pitted, halved, Italian Prune Plums and put them skin side down against the bottom of the pan. I also followed the suggestion of adding 1/4 teas. of cinnamon. Cardamom would also have been good. I used an 8" springform pan which made the cooking time a little longer. The cake took at least an hour to bake. To get the bottom of the pan off the cake I slid a piece of dental floss between the pan bottom and the cake after it was inverted onto a plate. This is a delicious cake and would work great, I think, with cherries and almond flavoring or any other fruit which appeals to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay Shore, New York, USA
Living In: Hudson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This was wonderful! I did have to bake it 45 mins., instead of 40 as directed. I also used butter instead of margarine. Other than that, I followed the recipe. Very moist and great flavor! I will make this again! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Made for Paul Walkup's 21st bday with plumbs only. Sifted cake flour and added a little more br sugar for topping. Didn't taste but it looked good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States