Plum Blueberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Excellent! My husband loved this recipe. I didn't have plums, so I used extra frozen blueberries. The only other alterations I made were to use butter instead of margarine, double the butter and brown sugar per other reviewers recommendations, and add a teaspoon of cinnamon to the dry ingredients. I also always make my upside-down cakes in a cast iron skillet for crispy edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
excellent cake. I made it with a combination of plums and nectarines and it was great. I think you can safely use any fruit you have at home with this recipe and have a great result. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Yummy. Just enough moisture / fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I doubled the brown sugar and used all pitted, halved, Italian Prune Plums and put them skin side down against the bottom of the pan. I also followed the suggestion of adding 1/4 teas. of cinnamon. Cardamom would also have been good. I used an 8" springform pan which made the cooking time a little longer. The cake took at least an hour to bake. To get the bottom of the pan off the cake I slid a piece of dental floss between the pan bottom and the cake after it was inverted onto a plate. This is a delicious cake and would work great, I think, with cherries and almond flavoring or any other fruit which appeals to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay Shore, New York, USA
Living In: Hudson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This was wonderful! I did have to bake it 45 mins., instead of 40 as directed. I also used butter instead of margarine. Other than that, I followed the recipe. Very moist and great flavor! I will make this again! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Made for Paul Walkup's 21st bday with plumbs only. Sifted cake flour and added a little more br sugar for topping. Didn't taste but it looked good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lightedway
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
When plums are in season this recipe always comes to mind. The outcome is impressive so don't tell anyone how easy it is to prepare. Serve with a dollop of fresh whipped cream and the Oooos, Ahhhs and Mmms won't cease till the last bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
love it. made a couple subs, per what i had in the kitchen. used 1 cup whole wheat and 1/4 cup bread flour. also, used a duck egg, which is bigger than a chicken egg and richer. no bloobs on hand, so it's an all-plum affair. i used a square baking pan, put a plate over it, and flipped to get it out. stayed intact. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CURBKICKER
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I don't know how I haven't reviewed this before! I've been making this for years now. I always get compliments when making this cake. It is easy and beautiful. I not have a plum tree and will be making this cake non-stop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
The cake was nice and light. I used butter instead of margarine and added a bit of lemon zest to the batter for extra flavor. I did find it too sweet (it burned in my throat). Will make again but definitively cut down on the sugar next time and take advantage of the sweetness from the fruit itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luchinka

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States