Pleasant Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Fantastic! Left out the bay leaves and it was still great! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Ok so this recipe was so delicious. I literally sat on here for 3 hours reading reviews because pork tends to turn out so dry or so tough. I was concerned because the author didn't mention how big the chops were that he used. I read through over 100 reviews and still felt unsure so after googling pork options I figured out what I would do. I buy my pork chops from costco and they are huge! So I took each one and pounded them down to about 3/4"-1". Then I seasoned them on both sides with Montreal Steak Seasoning. I had sauteed portobello mushrooms beforehand with minced garlic and onion powder (the bf can't stand onion texture). Set stove to almost high, dropped some butter in and seared on each side about 4-5 minutes. I added 1 1/2 cups broth and 1/2 cup white zin (out of white cooking wine). 3 bay leaves as other suggested and some crushed rosemary. If you put the stove on its lowest setting and have a tight fitting lid it's supposed to keep the pork super moist and tender....45 minutes later i checked them and they were done! Boiled the liquid & mushroom mixture down to half and turned off stove. Added 16 oz of light sour cream and 4 tsp paprika. My boyfriend and his fraternity brothers ate every bite. I served them with mashed potatoes and sugar snap peas. I had left overs today and they were even better than last night. The steak seasoning had really absorbed into the meat, making it taste just like a juicy steak! I made 6 pork chops and double the sauce which was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
My fiance' doesn't care for pork (unless it's bacon) but really enjoys this recipe! It's easy and the outcome is delicious!! YUMMY!! I've been serving it for a couple years now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This was very simple and delicious. I added a tablespoon or so of flour into my sour cream to thicken it. I also used smoked paprika for a little different taste. I will make this again. Thanks Clyde for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErinWebster

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pittsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
EXCELLLENT!!! I do not remove the garlic and onions I just let them simmer with my chops. I do however recomment THICK chops if not they become tough. I serve this with mash potatoes and my kids just eat it up..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeAnna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I made it with the onions and garlic cooking with the chops, in the electric skillet. Browned the chops but they were thin, so I didn't cook them very long - about 10min in the broth (and sherry). I've done a similar recipe where you add a bit of tomato paste and some dijon mustard to the pan sauce while reducing which I think has better flavor. I've also done a version with apples and dijon mustard. I added very little lowfat sour cream and served the chops with mashed potatoes and a veggie. It was good - but nothing extraordinary. Next time I will cook the chops longer so they are more tender. Good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Quick after work meal at the end of a stressful week. I followed the advice of whoever said you can cook the meat and onions at the same time. I put my two chops in one side of the big skillet and the onions in the other side. Worked perfectly. It was over 100F degrees in L.A. so I didn't have the patience to let the meat brown properly, but it didn't matter. I cooked on low for an hour as instructed which gave me time to make my smashed potatoes and brussel sprouts. At the end of the hour I removed the meat, added 1/4c sherry and then boiled it for 5-7 minutes to reduce the liquid. Turn off the heat and wait til it stops boiling and then stir in the sourcream for best results. I was worried because I forgot to drain the grease after cooking the meat & onions but it still turned out great and not greasy. Whew! I will definitely make this again with pork or chicken. Delicious! I'm glad there is leftovers for lunch. Oh! And even though I only had 2 chops I made the full recipe for the sauce since I had those smashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I thought this was a very tasty dish and went well over rice since there was lots of lovely gravy to wet the rice. Definitely going to be using it again! EDIT: I have made this numerous times now and have a couple of tips. One, definitely customize the cook time based on how thick your chops are. Tonight I made two bone in chops that were about an inch thick and they only needed to simmer for 25 minutes. Also, try it with beef broth sometime - DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bel920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This was very bland I thought. I did not enjoy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This is an awesome recipe! I make ours with spiced up, extra thick pork chops. I cover the chops with pepper, Grill Mates spicy chicken and Grill Mates garlic and onion seasonings, then brown them. I scrape up all of the browned bits from the pork, make twice the sauce, and add white wine, a bay leaf, a dash of poultry seasoning, and a touch of lemon pepper seasoning. My husband loves this, as have the guests I've served it to. Good eats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 544) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States