Playoff Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This is an excellent and easy recipe. I substituted real diced onion and gluten-free breadcrumbs (same amounts as listed) and browned the meatballs in butter since I was out of vegetable oil. I used my cookie dough scoop to form them. They held their shape very well. The BBQ sauce I used was Weber Grill Molasses. I took them to a party and everyone loved them. I didn't have any to take home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
easy to make I'am 12 and i still made it by myself for a school project its fun to cook so get up and cook with love ones. PS severe with toothpicks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
did this with Sweet Baby Rays Honey BBQ sauce. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Very good. I had never used oatmeal before and was a little skeptical but they were moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
WE JUST LOVE IT!!! Seriously, they were a HIT!!! I love pleasing my family with this recipe! I never thought of adding oatmeal into the meatballs before, so I was a little confused at the ingredients BUT they came out AWESOME!!! Thank you!!! PS: mine kept shape very well. But I used 80/20 ground beef, a very good one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Very tasty--will make again. Bake at 350 for 20 minutes, add BBQ sauce, and bake an additional 7 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
It was very good but I suggest that you only use one table spoon of the onion. Other than that they were a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
The unexpected star of our NFL Playoffs "show." I'm convinced a good barbecue sauce and some finely chopped green pepper had everything to do with that. Make life easier and bake them at 400 degrees about 12 minutes instead of frying them, then finish the recipe as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Definitely great!! tip: we used Korean barbecue sauce and baked them in the oven after frying them. but delicious!! five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Loved this recipe! I did make some changes; I omitted the cheese, mixed in A1 and Worcestershire sauce in the ground beef, and replaced oatmeal with 4C seasoned breadcrumbs as well as fresh minced onions. It does, of course, depend a lot on the barbeque sauce you use, I alternated between Stubbs' Smoky Mesquite and Hickory Bourbon and it was delicious. I also tried Famous Dave's Sweet & Sassy, and that didn't work as well. But this is definitely a favorite in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States