Playoff Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I absolutely loved these, as did my husband. I used 2 parts BBQ sauce and 1 part HP Steak Sauce, gave them that extra bit of tang. I also used cracker crumbs instead of oatmeal,they held together great!! Will definitely make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
These were good, but obviously that would depend a lot on the sauce you choose. I used bread crumbs instead of oatmeal to bind after reading reviews and the meatballs seemed to hold up okay. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
These were good. I used fresh onion instead of dried onion & salt & pepper to taste. The meatballs didn't hold their shape very well, I would use more oats & maybe some milk. I halved the recipe & forgot to use less sauce, so they were a little too saucy. Overall, I liked them and will try them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Awesome meatballs. I loved this recipe, and will be making it again. I used 80/20 ground beef, and I thought the texture was perfect. I put my BBQ sauce on only the last 15 minutes, since I used BBQ sauce with a lot of sugar in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nathan Hunzeker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Humboldt, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Crab Orchard, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This was delicious! My whole family (5 kids of all ages) LOVED it. I did have to make some changes. I didn't have any instant oatmeal so I used potato flakes instead. I also substituted cut up Kraft Cheese Bites (Three Cheese Blend - Mozzarella, Parmesan & White Cheddar) for the cheese since it's what I had on hand. After covering the meatballs in barbecue sauce I drizzled honey over the whole thing, about 1/2 cup. I then sprinkled about 1/2 cup of brown sugar over them. Finally, I splashed red vinegar over all of that for some tang. The sauce was thick, glazed and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I didnt care for these at all, I made them for game day a couple months ago and just threw most of them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
The unexpected star of our NFL Playoffs "show." I'm convinced a good barbecue sauce and some finely chopped green pepper had everything to do with that. Make life easier and bake them at 400 degrees about 12 minutes instead of frying them, then finish the recipe as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
The only things that I did differently were to cut the ingredients in half because I only had a pound of ground meat. That was PLENTY of food for my family of 5!! I used ground turkey because we don't eat red meat and I made my own sauce because I didn't have any on hand. The family loved it :) (My sauce: 1 cup ketchup, 2 tbsp. Heinz 57, 1 tbsp. A1, 1 tbsp. brown sugar, 1 tsp. yellow mustard).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica New Alford

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
My husband and I found these to be very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Yummy yummy! Loved the tang to these meatballs. They definitely didn't keep their shape well though. Not sure what to do to remedy that (I'm new to meatballs). But will experiment and deffinitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States