Playgroup Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
My 3 year old and 1 year old loved these! We didn't have raisons, though, so we used the dried mix of pineapple, mango and papaya that you can buy in the raison section of the grocery store, and then added 3/4 C of shredded coconut. AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
These are wonderful. Even my husband likes them. I double the recipe and we still eat them in less than a week. I also have substituted dried blueberries for the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I did these a little differently, instead of wheat germ, we used unprocessed wheat bran, WW pastry flour and coconut oil. We've made these twice now and all 4 children love them. I have to take mine out at about 25 minutes though for chewy bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
These are great! They satisfy my mid-afternoon urge for chocolate in a healthy filling way. The only changes I made: WW flour,reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup, added 3/4 cup coarsely chopped toasted almonds along with the raisins (the raisins add sweetness). Next time I may add craisins or dried cranberries for a change, although these are perfect as they are! Thanks for a great healthy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
This is one of my family's favorite recipes. I make it at least once a week. They are easy, delicious, and nutritious. I have played with the ingredients, and they are always good. Our favorite version is doubling the recipe using a 1 lb. bag of "Bob's Red Mill 5 Grain Hot Cereal" for the rolled oats and adding 1/2-1 cup coconut. It is our favorite breakfast and take-along snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
So good and so easy! I lined my baking dish with parchment paper to prevent sticking. I substituted more flour for the wheat germ, plus some sesame seeds and sunflower seeds to make them more granola-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
These turned out really good. I substitued ground flax for the wheat germ and choc chips instead of raisins. I think the choc chip addition made it a little too sweet. Next time, if I add them, I think I'll reduce the sugar. Also added chopped almonds. These are the perfect snack. Thanks for submiting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
We love these granola bars. We make a variety of them. Nuts, cranberries, coconut. Yum. My brother-in-law is in the Special Forces and has asked for a batch to take while training for deployment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
This recipe is exactly what I was looking for! I too cooked for a bit less time (just under 25 min.), and mine are nice and chewy. Thanks for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
What an excellent recipe. I doubled the recipe and used my commercial size cookie sheet. When I first was cutting them, I thought "oh no". This is not what I was expecting. But as the bars cooled, it was exactly what I wanted. The recipe is a great base for a granola bar and the variations but added other ingredients allows you to make so many variations. Thanks for sharing this treasure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States