Playgroup Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Didn't use raisins, but put in 1/2 cup peanut butter instead. I also used 1/2 cup whole wheat and 1/2 cup regular flour. So, so yummy! I don't ever want to go back to store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This recipe is so versatile. I got fed up because I couldn't find my favorite chewy granola bars with fruit and dark chocolate so I decided to make my own. You really can do whatever you want with this recipe and I feel like it is impossible to mess up. These tasted a bit salty to me so I will cut back a little next time. I followed another suggestion and used half oil and half applesauce to cut back on some fat. I was worried about them being too sugary so I cut back on the sugar a little. I think I will increase it back to what the recipe says next time. I added chopped spiced and glazed mixed nuts you buy at the grocery store, chocolate chips, and tons of raisins. I think I will increase the amounts next time and maybe add pumpkin or sunflower seeds. I baked these for 25 minutes which made them ever so crispy on the edges (which was yummy). I had no problem getting them out of my greased glass baking dish. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Followed recipe exactly, just doubled it. It was so good. A little too sweet for my taste, so I am going to reduce the brown sugar next time. I over cooked it, so next time will check it at 20 min. to see if the edges are starting to get golden brown. It didn't look like I over cooked it, but after bars cooked down, they were too hard on the edges. Thanks for this great recipe that can easily be modified with different flavors. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I subbed wheat bran for germ because, it's what I had, banana for egg (1/4c) and threw in a handful of(enjoy life) chocolate chips....Also, used whole wheat flour because why not, right? I sneak it any sweet recipe and no one knows the difference. Yummmmmmy!! They came out of the oven after dinner and we couldn't help but start eating them!! DEFINITELY will make variations of this versatile recipes, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
The only change I'd make to this is I like my granola bars more chewy. I recommend cooking them for 18 minutes instead to keep them chewy. 20 minutes for me (living in Utah) was almost too long for me. Besides that, I really like being able to make homemade granola bars. These are wonderfully tasty. I don't have wheat germ on hand, so I haven't been using it. But I've been putting a variety of chopped up dried fruit, nuts and raw pumpkin seed (I highly recommend them).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Great recipe. We make this once a week in our house! Kids love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Palermo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I am giving 5 stars because I SPEND SO MUCH MONEY at the grocery store every week on granola bars for breakfast, and this is such a great base to what I normally buy! I didn't add any fruits, and I definitely will, next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Love this recipe! My family goes crazy over these bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
These are easy to make and good! I followed the recipe except I used whole wheat flour and added a large handful of chocolate chips bc I have lots leftover from unfinished Christmas baking. good flavor with a slight chew to them. really looking forward to making them again with various other dried fruit and/or nut combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I have made this recipe many, many times; and it's pretty great as written. With that being said (and with how many times I've made it), I've modified it to fit my family's taste. The last batch I made, I used 2 1/2 cups old fashioned oats, 1/2 cup flour, 1/3 cup brown sugar, 1/4 tsp salt, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ground ginger, 1 cup of raisins, 1/3 cup honey, 1 egg beaten, 2 tsps vanilla, and then I mashed 1 medium banana into a half-cup measure and then topped off the remaining space in the half-cup measure with vegetable oil (not an exact measurement, but it reduces the amount of fat in the recipe). I followed the same instructions, mixing the dry ingredients, and then adding in the wet ingredients. Mine usually require the full 30 minutes. I have also made it using molasses in place of the honey; have tried it with both all purpose and wheat flours; and it always turns out good..So my rating is based on the original recipe AND the fact that it so easily adapted to your tastes, dietary needs, and/or simply what ingredients you have on hand....Oh, and I almost never have wheat germ in my pantry, so I haven't made it with that, but it still turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States