Playgroup Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I love this recipe! My husband said these are the best granola bars he has EVER had! They are good without raisins or anything else in them, but they are also tasty with chocolate chips, butterscotch chips, nuts, etc. You can even substitute all or some of the oil with applesauce. I cook them for 25 minutes on a cookie sheet lined with aluminum foil. When I do this, they come out the perfect consistency of chewy and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I've made these several times. They have been a favorite and are great for packing in lunches even for my hard working teen son and husband. I've substituted wheat flour for the white flour with no notice. I've also added coconut, slivered almonds and cranraisins for variation. One time I put chocolate chips and slivered almonds instead. I double mine and put into a jelly roll pan. Mine always turn out chewy. I individually wrap them and put them in the snack box container. I can't keep them stocked and tell my kids they are only for lunches just so they will last the whole week. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Made this with a couple of the suggested changes... 1/2 c sugar and 1/2 c. unsweetened applesauce. I also only baked for 20 min on a cookie tray. I was able to make these gluten free by switiching the wheat germ to oat bran and flour to sorghum. Added more dried fruit. I know it ends up being a lot of changes, but the general idea was great! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Colebrook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Easy to make and not heavy. The kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I've been making these for awhile. My husband likes to take granola bars to work as a snack. I've been trying to avoid processed food so I make them now instead of buying them. I've reduced the amount of sugar in them, I add a cup of the individual applesauce to make them moister and my husband like craisins and chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I've made these several times and love them! The recipe calls for wheat germ which I never have, so I substitute sesame seeds, flax seeds, and a little extra oats. I also sub out some of the regular flour for whole wheat flour. I use craisins instead of raisins, and of course, add chocolate chips as everything goes over better in my house with chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Love, Love, Love these! I ran the kitchen at a backpacking school in Scotland and these were a staple on every hike. I love how I can change up the fruit with coconut, chocolate, and so many other combinations. I have passed this recipe on to many other moms..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Excellent!!!!!!!!!!!! The kids and I all LOVED these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicola Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I LOVE this recipe!! Even my picky children can't get enough of the bars! I added half a cup of natural peanut butter, crushed peanuts, walnuts, cashew pieces, shredded coconut, craisins, ground flax seed, sunflower seeds and raisins. You can add anything you want! I went off chocolate over a year ago so I did not add any chocolate. I also added a lot more cinnamon and vanilla than the original recipe called for. Next time I am going to substitute some of the oil with apple sauce and see how it goes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Good recipe! The granola bars were golden brown in only 20 minutes, so be careful not to over-bake them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States