Playgroup Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
These are awesome!! stay chewy forever and if you cook them for less time they are amazing. good with cranberries and white chocolate chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Yummy! I swapped out the wheat germ for flax meal and added a few tablespoons of brewers yeast to make these into Lactation Granola Bars. Also added a teaspoon of baking soda so they puffed up a bit like a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
These turned out very "cakey" and not like granola bars. They were dry and crumbly and I didn't care for the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Awesome versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
We love these and love that they can be varied by the goodies you add in. We have made these every week for the past 3-4 weeks. They don't only taste great but keep you full for hours. We only bake for 18-20 min. Our variety includes alternating or combining the following dates or craisins, almonds or sunflower or pecans or walnuts, choc chips, sesame seeds, coconut flakes. Seriously sky is the limit. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetsuzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I love this recipe! My husband said these are the best granola bars he has EVER had! They are good without raisins or anything else in them, but they are also tasty with chocolate chips, butterscotch chips, nuts, etc. You can even substitute all or some of the oil with applesauce. I cook them for 25 minutes on a cookie sheet lined with aluminum foil. When I do this, they come out the perfect consistency of chewy and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I've made these several times. They have been a favorite and are great for packing in lunches even for my hard working teen son and husband. I've substituted wheat flour for the white flour with no notice. I've also added coconut, slivered almonds and cranraisins for variation. One time I put chocolate chips and slivered almonds instead. I double mine and put into a jelly roll pan. Mine always turn out chewy. I individually wrap them and put them in the snack box container. I can't keep them stocked and tell my kids they are only for lunches just so they will last the whole week. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Made this with a couple of the suggested changes... 1/2 c sugar and 1/2 c. unsweetened applesauce. I also only baked for 20 min on a cookie tray. I was able to make these gluten free by switiching the wheat germ to oat bran and flour to sorghum. Added more dried fruit. I know it ends up being a lot of changes, but the general idea was great! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Colebrook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Easy to make and not heavy. The kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I've been making these for awhile. My husband likes to take granola bars to work as a snack. I've been trying to avoid processed food so I make them now instead of buying them. I've reduced the amount of sugar in them, I add a cup of the individual applesauce to make them moister and my husband like craisins and chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States