Playgroup Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I just took these out of the oven after seeing them in the magazine. I made them for the kids 4H weekend so I'm hoping they find them as tasty as I do right now! I used craisins instead of raisins and I liked that choice. I didn't have wheat germ so I just used more flour and I only had a quarter cup of honey so I used dark corn syrup to supplement. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Berbrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I made a few changes because I wanted it a bit healthier. I replaced the white flour with Almond flour (which gives it more protein & adds moisture). I replaced the vegetable oil with coconut oil and I had no wheat germ on hand so I replaced that with flax meal. The texture came out perfect! It was like a moist oatmeal cookie bar. Next time I will reduced the brown sugar to 1/4 cup and maybe add 1/4 cup stevia (to reduce the sugar and calories). I may try it using coconut flour too, to give it even more fiber and maybe try it with applesauce sometime too. I love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
It was a little to salty for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
We did not care for these. They weren't soft chewy granola bars, they weren't crunchy...somewhere in between...very weird texture for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This was great. I led out the wheat germ due to a gluten allergy; substituted bob red mill gluten free all purpose flour. Next time I will add chopped nuts and pumpkin seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Have made this several times with various nuts and such and am very, very please with the results every time! Everybody loved these at work as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
As the name suggests, these are better for kids. They don't pack a whole lot of flavor, and the nutritional content could be higher, especially if you're feeding them to children every day. 25 minutes in my small electric oven was sufficient. Good base recipe. Planning to do a lot of experimentation with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Ok, I'm giving this a 4star because I made some changes and didn't think it would be fair to down a star on it. I only used 1/2 cup sugar (as I had read some reviews) and I thought 2 tsp vanilla was too much so I only used 1. And I added in about 1/4 cup of sunflower seeds. Then I baked this in a 8x11 pan,which I think was the perfect thickness. And baked for 30 mins. They came out to be a good chewiness for me. Will give this a try again, and probably use the full amount of sugar and a tad bit more of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Good bars. My husband eats at least 2 granola bars every day after workouts and likes these better than any store brand I've bought, yet they were a trifle crumbly. The crumbs were good as granola. I plan to use the suggestion from natsmom, and add 1/2 cup applesauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
After reading lots of the reviews I made some of the suggested changes. Used whole wheat flour instead of white, did 1/4 cup wheat germ and 1/4 cup ground flax seed. Used avocado oil in mine... next time I think I'll use 1/4 cup avocado oil and 3/4 cup applesauce to see if I can make them a little chewier. I also took the advice of pressing the mixture into the pan leaving about 1.5 inches bare at the end to make the bars thicker (since the mixture doesn't spread when cooking). Instead of raisins I used dried cranberries and added half a cup of chocolate chips. Can't wait to try a bunch of different variations! Definitely don't need to be cooked quite so long, I'd say more like 25 minutes. After cutting (while still warm) I wrapped them individually in saran wrap so hopefully they won't get too hard. But a really great basic recipe to play with!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States