Playgroup Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Taste great and a quick on the go sanck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Yep, we loved this recipe and it's now a family staple. I always decrease the brown sugar to 1/2 cup and I've tried several variations--substituting golden syrup (an Aussie thing) for honey, chopped peanuts & coconut or chocolate chips & coconut for the raisins. Whatever I can find at the time. They're always good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nomadic Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antigo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I love this recipe and have made it several times in the past few weeks. I must say exactly what another reviewer said... Only bake them 18 minutes. They come out perfect every time and stay soft and chewy! I've made them with chopped up dried dates and the plumaisins (dried plum pieces). I plan on making a lot of varieties of this recipe in the future!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Naylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This has become my go-to granola bar recipe. My 6 year old and my husband both love them. They are fast and easy to put together. I did reduce the brown sugar to 1/3 cup and used 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour in place of the wheat germ and white flour. These pack well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I use this recipe all the time! It saves us so much money on snacks for the 3 kids. I have a child with gluten issues, so I switched the flour to almond flour, I use gluten free rolled oats, and I have also used peanut butter (the natural, oily kind) in place of the veggie oil. It all comes out great! I cook it for 10 minutes less. This is a go to snack for our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Love this recipe. I am now making about 2 batches every week because my family loves it enough and takes it to school for snacks or for after workouts etc. I've played around with it quite a bit - it is very open to doing that without ruining it for many of the ingredients except for the oil. I've found that applesauce and bananas with or without the oil didn't give it the right texture. The texture that was best for subbing the oil was either half oil and half pureed beans or all pureed beans. It works very well with subbing wheat flour for all purpose flour. I have also subbed 1/4 c flax seed meal for 1/4 c of flour (and still using 3/4 flour). I also sub wheat or oat bran for the wheat germ. I've also subbed almond extract for vanilla. I've put all kinds of fillers in it - craisins, chocolate chips, white chocolate chips, butterscotch. Cut up dried apricots, dried apples and even some crunched banana chips. I suggest making the recipe as is at first and then have fun subbing. There is very little that I have found that goes wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I have never met a person, regardless of age who doesn't like these! I add Craisins and chocolate chips to the recipe, but you could add finely chopped nuts (if you know no one has allergies). I have been making this recipe for years and am never disappointed. One tip though, if you line your pan with parchment paper, it makes removing them really easy, makes cutting them easy (without scratching your pan) and pan clean up quick and easy. I did learn though not to try to make them too thick or they won't cook properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Love the recipe. I've substituted tapioca flour for the egg. Makes the consistency a little firmer but still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Delicious. In my oven the edges started browning after cooking about 25 minutes. The texture is perfect, kids and husband love them. I love the raisins, my kids like them better when I use choc chips instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Our softball team loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adele Sorrentino-George

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States