Playgroup Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I followed everything except I used less sugar, (less than 1/3 cup) and I used oat flour! Much healthier. They came out just perfect! Oat flour is easy to make. Just pulverize some old fashioned oats in a food processor or even a blender until you see that the oats have became kind of flour like. I substitute this cup of oat flour with the regular flour needed here. And then obviously just follow the rest of the recipe, including the other 2 cups of oats. I've made these twice, and once I didn't have enough honey so I used some natural PB and they still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I followed the core recipe pretty closely, and doubled it so I could use a jelly roll pan (and because I have six people in my family, including four avid granola bar eaters). I used whole wheat flour instead of white, and coconut oil instead of vegetable. I used 2 Tbsp. vanilla (probably very slightly too much-would try 5 tsp next time). I used peanut butter (a little more than 1/2 c for the doubled recipe), and therefore only used a drizzle of honey. I used 1 1/2c. chocolate chips. I omitted cinnamon. It was a little too salty (I used natural peanut butter, so that would not have added any), so I would reduce that next time. I also used 1 c. brown sugar (for doubled recipe). I'm a sucker for things right out of the oven, and the taste was good then-we'll see how it tastes and how crunchy they are when cooled. I am also eager to try a fruit and nut version with sunflower seeds, dried cranberries, and almonds. In that case, I'll use the full amount of honey. Not sure about the cinnamon with those other ingredients. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Love this recipe! I'm allergic to cinnamon, so this prevents me from buying store bought granola bars. I took the advice of one reviewer and only baked them for about 18 minutes, cooled for 10 minutes, cut into bars, and allowed them to cool completely before removing them. They were delicious and chewy! I look forward to making them again with different dried fruit. I will never buy store bought again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Tried and liked it, go easy on the salt as it takes over. Added dried plums and semolina (not wheat germ)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
These are great. They stayed nice and chewy for days. I wrapped them individually in plastic wrap and placed in air tight container. I added flax seed, chai seeds, coconut, whole wheat flour instead of white and coconut oil instead of veg oil. I added mini dark chocolate chips and reduced he raisins a little. I did leave about an inch on each end to make the bars thicker. Make sure they are cut while warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Great recipe! Thanks for sharing. My boys loved it. I made some changes as suggested by the other comments and it turned out fantastic. Real keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I was concerned these bars would be too sweet,but they were just about perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Love these granola bars. We add coconut to them along with dark choc. chips. I only bake them for 20 minutes so that they are chewy. I also replace wheat germ with toasted flax seed. Can't get enough of these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I make this as is, but I put half of the mixture down into the pan, cover it wih jam and dried fruit (usually cranberries), then slap the rest of the mixture on top. I don't add any raisins. But I add about a 1/4 cup of unsweetened shredded coconut. we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIAMIAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geelong, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Great recipe, I lowered the oil to 1/3 c and used olive oil instead of vegetable, lowered the sugar to 1/3 c and honey to 1/3 c, added 1/2 c of unsweetened applesauce and raised the cinnamon to 1tsp. I added an extra spoon of vanilla, 3/4 of raisins, and I used whole wheat flour instead of regular. Next time I probably wont use oil at all, except in the pan. From others' suggestions, I only cooked it for 18min, and they tuned out moist and delicious. I didn't have any wheat germ, so I took a protein cereal and ground it in a nut grinder and used that instead an it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States