Playgroup Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
My husband loves these! The only change I made was I used 1/2 cup of applesauce instead of the oil. I also did not bake them as long as the directions said to, we like our granola bars chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Very good. Used grapenuts because that's what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This recipe certainly doesn't need a another rave but it deserves one. This is a fantastic jumping off point for creating numerous types of delicious granola bars. I have made them with mashed bananas or applesauce in lieu of oil and peanut butter or almond butter as opposed to the egg. A touch of coconut oil is great. I've added cranberries, many types of nut, coconut and chocolate chips. Hint: reduce the sugar. I find they are pretty sweet particularly if you add chocolate chips or dried fruit like raisins or berries. I general use maybe a quarter cup of brown sugar and 1/3 cup honey or less. Even then I questioned: is this too sweet for breakfast? Also, definitely use whole wheat flour and you sub out any number of items for the wheat germ or part of the flour - oat bran, almond meal, cashew meal. The options are endless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I used this recipe for my Jr. High cooking class. We added the 1/2 cup of applesauce that someone else suggested and the kids loved it! By adding the applesauce it made almost a cookie consistancy. If you want a crisper granola bar, make the recipe as is or maybe only add 1/4 c. of applesauce. Can't wait to try this with whole wheat flour!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Awesome. Used whole wheat flour and only 1/3 C brown sugar. Subbed oat bran and ground flax seed for wheat germ. Added sunflower seeds, walnuts, almonds, dried cranberries, chocolate chips. Where have these been all my life?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Perfect! I only made a few changes - (1) did not have wheat germ, used All-Bran cereal instead, (2) used Craisins instead of raisins, and (3) spread thin layer home-made blueberry spread on top prior to baking. They stayed chewy after cooling and are so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marlboro, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
These are not at all what I hoped. They are like a dry lifeless oatmeal cookie. I'll keep looking for something that is more like a real granola bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELABIGAIL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadowview, Virginia, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Tried these for the first time today--yum! I have a son who's allergic to wheat, so I substituted oat and quinoa flours for the all-purpose flour and flaxseed and amaranth for the wheat germ. The amaranth is still a little crunchier than I'd prefer, but the rest of my family liked it. The higher protein content of the quinoa & amaranth makes these very satisfying, filling bars. I also substitued some chopped prunes for some of the raisins, and that combo tastes good. The only thing I'm not crazy about with these is that the high oil content leaves your fingers a little greasy afterward. But that's not a deal-breaker yet.I'm going to try these next time with some chopped pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
These are awesome!! stay chewy forever and if you cook them for less time they are amazing. good with cranberries and white chocolate chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Yummy! I swapped out the wheat germ for flax meal and added a few tablespoons of brewers yeast to make these into Lactation Granola Bars. Also added a teaspoon of baking soda so they puffed up a bit like a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States