Playgroup Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Perfect! I only made a few changes - (1) did not have wheat germ, used All-Bran cereal instead, (2) used Craisins instead of raisins, and (3) spread thin layer home-made blueberry spread on top prior to baking. They stayed chewy after cooling and are so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marlboro, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
These are not at all what I hoped. They are like a dry lifeless oatmeal cookie. I'll keep looking for something that is more like a real granola bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELABIGAIL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadowview, Virginia, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Tried these for the first time today--yum! I have a son who's allergic to wheat, so I substituted oat and quinoa flours for the all-purpose flour and flaxseed and amaranth for the wheat germ. The amaranth is still a little crunchier than I'd prefer, but the rest of my family liked it. The higher protein content of the quinoa & amaranth makes these very satisfying, filling bars. I also substitued some chopped prunes for some of the raisins, and that combo tastes good. The only thing I'm not crazy about with these is that the high oil content leaves your fingers a little greasy afterward. But that's not a deal-breaker yet.I'm going to try these next time with some chopped pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
These are awesome!! stay chewy forever and if you cook them for less time they are amazing. good with cranberries and white chocolate chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Yummy! I swapped out the wheat germ for flax meal and added a few tablespoons of brewers yeast to make these into Lactation Granola Bars. Also added a teaspoon of baking soda so they puffed up a bit like a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
These turned out very "cakey" and not like granola bars. They were dry and crumbly and I didn't care for the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Awesome versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
We love these and love that they can be varied by the goodies you add in. We have made these every week for the past 3-4 weeks. They don't only taste great but keep you full for hours. We only bake for 18-20 min. Our variety includes alternating or combining the following dates or craisins, almonds or sunflower or pecans or walnuts, choc chips, sesame seeds, coconut flakes. Seriously sky is the limit. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetsuzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I love this recipe! My husband said these are the best granola bars he has EVER had! They are good without raisins or anything else in them, but they are also tasty with chocolate chips, butterscotch chips, nuts, etc. You can even substitute all or some of the oil with applesauce. I cook them for 25 minutes on a cookie sheet lined with aluminum foil. When I do this, they come out the perfect consistency of chewy and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I've made these several times. They have been a favorite and are great for packing in lunches even for my hard working teen son and husband. I've substituted wheat flour for the white flour with no notice. I've also added coconut, slivered almonds and cranraisins for variation. One time I put chocolate chips and slivered almonds instead. I double mine and put into a jelly roll pan. Mine always turn out chewy. I individually wrap them and put them in the snack box container. I can't keep them stocked and tell my kids they are only for lunches just so they will last the whole week. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States