Playgroup Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
I have made this several times now. I use it as a base and put in whatever goes with the occasion I am making them for. Use them a lot for after-game treats for teams. They devour them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
This recipe is so versatile. It has become one of our favorites. I have changed it a bit to suit our tastes. Instead of raisins I put in 1 1/2 cups of chopped dates and 1 1/2 cups of chopped pecans. You could use anything. Chopped apricots? I use Canola oil instead of vegetable oil and we omit the cinnamon. I find we like it better if you cook it just until lightly done. They are still good if you overcook a bit but we like them softer. Also, I use parchment paper in the bottom of the pan and lift it out in one piece to cool. No mess and no pan to wash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leenie
Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Great recipe the kids loved and a nice alternative to store bought, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovefood

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
This is such an easy recipe to change up, modify to however you like it best, whether that means making it tastier or healthier (or both?!?)!!!! I usually use coconut palm sugar in place of the brown sugar. In place of the wheat germ, I substitute flax meal and chia seed. For flour, I use 3/4 c whole wheat and 1/4 teff flour. Instead of raisins, I might add dates, and/or dried blueberries. Instead of 1/2 c vegetable oil, I put in 1 banana and 1/4 c peanut butter. If the batter seems too dry, I'll then add a bit of vegetable oil. The rest of the recipe stays the same. I find so long as the wet and dry ingredients balance out, it works. I convection bake at 325% for 20 minutes or so. My young grandsons both like these; they call them "cookies," and I feel good about offering these healthy treats to them, so that makes this recipe a winner to me!!! I know that's a lot of changes, but I always begin with this basic simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Koehn Traweek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
This was a very good recipe, but the 30 minute baking time was way too long in my oven. The middle bars came out okay but the bars on the edges were very hard. I will make again and adjust the baking time accordingly. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
I have never reviewed anything before. I have been making this recipe around every other week for a year. I LOVE IT! The only change I made was I cut the raisins in half & added some semi-sweet chocolate chips for the missing half. I bake them for 25 minutes. After they cool, I cut these in squares (24 in a 13 x 9 glass pan), and I individually wrap them in plastic wrap. They last beautifully this way for a few weeks. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
I've made these twice in 2 weeks and they've been a huge hit. The first time I used raisins and the second time I used dried mixed berries. I used whole wheat flour like suggested, cut the sugar to 1/2 cup, and used a full cup of fruit. I stored them in a tupperware container and they were still chewy after a week. I plan on keeping this recipe on hand for frequent use, trying different additions. I want to try peanut butter and chocolate chips next time. A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
I have made this recipe three times. The only thing i changed was the amount of brown sugar. I reduced to about 1/4 cup. I made with "real" local honey. I think that makes a difference. I havent had a granola bar that rivaled this..Excellent..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
I did semi chocolate chips instead of raisins. I think I will use a little less brown sugar next time, a bit too sweet, but very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Bilotti

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States