Playgroup Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I took parts of the initial recipe and other reviewers suggestions. Here is what I ended up doing: 1 1/2 cups rice crispy cereal, 2 cups oats, 1 cup raisins, 1/3 cup packed brown sugar, 1/2 cup honey, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract, 1/4 cup sliced almonds, 1/4 cup chopped pecans , 1/4 cup wheat germ, 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon, 2 eggs (used egg whites), 1 cup applesauce, 1/4 tsp allspice, 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, 1/2 cup all-purpose flour. I also sprinkled some more almonds onto the top and gently pushed them in the "dough". Cooked in my convection oven at 350 for 23 minutes. They're very chewy on the inside and so yummy. My son who hates raisins and nuts just ate 3 bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I am vey pleased with this recipe. I used gluten free flour and apricots instead of raisins. I even used an egg substitute. We have someone with a lot of allergies and I really had to tweak it and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I loved this recipe. I have made a lot of granola bars and this one is going to be my 'go to' granola bar. My family devoured them!! I cut the sugar to 1/2 c and did not add raisins (blech) I added mini choc chips and unsalted almonds, walnuts, and cashews. I also added dried cherries. I think you can easily change it up! I SLIGHTLY overcooked them and actually it tasted great. (phew) You will enjoy this and trust me they will go in a minute!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
These are very yummy. It was a huge hit with my oldest and my husband. I will be making them again. I used olive oil in replacement of the vegetable oil though and I think I am going to try adding unsalted sunflower seeds in the next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This recipe IS great as written-- so great it became an immediate staple. But it lends itself well to substitutions/tweaking, too. Personally, I found adding an extra egg really helped it stay together with tons of add ins like fruit and nuts. I also like it better with wheat flour. My husband likes bananna chips, peanut butter, and chocolate. I like apricots, craisins and mixed nuts. The neices and nephews like white chocolate, craisins, and walnuts. But again, still a great recipe as written. I've made it 3 times in 2 weeks already. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenistaKaty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
THE GRANOLA bars tend to be dry I think the flour and oats needed to be reduced. They do taste good and my boys ate them. I added organic cranberries and pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
These are FAB-U-LOUS! After my first try with them, however, I edited them for health purposes, and they were genuinely just as yummy! I added a half a cup of flax seeds, I used wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour, and I used canola oil instead of vegetable oil. I've also made them with and without the raisins. They are delicious either way, but my family LOVED them with the raisins (I did, too). Also, I only baked them for about 20 minutes, as to keep them chewy. Soooooo good once they cooled! But anyway, thanks to whomever submitted this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Made these tonight, I thought they were average, probably won't make again. With that said, I did use Olive oil versus vegetable oil as that's all we had/use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Love love love these! These have become a regular staple in my home and they always get eaten up! For the dried fruit I do a mixture of rasins, crasins, & dried blueberries. I use wheat flour, add crushed almonds, and sometimes flax seeds. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
These are great, and really flexible to accommodate whatever ingredients you have on hand. I've made with spelt flour and used applesauce in place of the oil. Always good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boukey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States