Play Dough Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Very nice recipe. In our bakery, with any cookies (as this one) that we bake on a stick, we always dip the stick into liquid egg whites before sticking that portion into the cookie. This way, the stick will not fall out! 100% guarenteed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
500 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BredPhd

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hinsdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
These are so cute! I really thought I was playing with Play Dough. I really recommend using the paste that the recipe calls for so you get the deep color without using a ton of food coloring. After I halved each color I halved them again and pre-rolled the first 6 balls of each color so I could ensure I'd have enough of each color for each cookie. I, at first, tried to the first 12 but they started to dry out. Once I got my rope formed I started forming the inside coil. After three loops I took the tail end of the rope and wrapped it around the coil. I found a bag of 100 6" sticks at Michaels and 100 baggies with ties that fit perfectly on the cookie. They also have a ton of different individual colored pastes to choose from. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
These are really good. It's the same recipe as "The Fun Cookie Suckers" from this site. It's very time consuming but well worth the effort as they truly are pretty and kids love them. I found if I did most of the prep work to the dough like make all the balls for rolling before chilling the dough it makes it easier because the dough softens quickly which makes it difficult to coil, so this way I did a bit at a time and kept the rest in the fridge. Very nice cookie. THX.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
These are very cool and creative. They are also super easy if you use store-bought sugar cookie dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
These cookies are so neat to look at. I made them without putting the stick in. The first comment I got was "Wow, those look like Play Doh!" Everyone thought these were really fun cookies and they taste pretty good too. They taste like a sugar cookie. The only thing I would warn you about is that they do take a while to make. You have to take a little dough of each color combine them with the other colors, roll out, and then coil up. So it does take some time, but it is definately worth it! I had a lot of great comments about these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I don't like giving unfavorable reviews, but I have to say, this one just didn't do it taste-wise for us. They were really fun to make, and the kids really enjoyed shaping them. But the flavor was missing something. First, it wasn't sweet enough for our tastes. It also tasted (not texture, texture was ok) a bit doughy. On the up side, it was a fun activity to do with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~S~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2000
Another way to do these cookies is to let your kids mold them with cookie cutters or just their hands to make them whatever they want to be...this would be in place of the swirls on sticks. When I was little, I used to make little people and stars and rainbows...whatever my heart desired! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassypriscilla
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This recipe was a real hit at my son's nursery school. The cookies are colorful and fun to make. I made the balls first and then chilled them and only used 3 colors. I don't find them very tasty - as mentioned before, it is more like a spritz cookie than a sugar cookie. But the final result is beautiful especially when sprinkled with a bit of sanding sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassypriscilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Yummy and fun! So easy for the kids. It's hard to find a project that a 7 year old and a 3 year old can both do together and enjoy. This would be it:) We followed the recipe EXACTLY and turned out PERFECT! We did sprinkle a bit of sugar on them before baking, which made them taste exactly like sugar cookies. Thanks soooo much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This was a really fun way to get my three-year-old son cooking! The cookies are pretty tasty and soft, and the bright colors are exciting. Whenever we get one of these out, my 10-month-old is attracted to them magnetically. We all love them! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States