Play Dough Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
These are so cute! I really thought I was playing with Play Dough. I really recommend using the paste that the recipe calls for so you get the deep color without using a ton of food coloring. After I halved each color I halved them again and pre-rolled the first 6 balls of each color so I could ensure I'd have enough of each color for each cookie. I, at first, tried to the first 12 but they started to dry out. Once I got my rope formed I started forming the inside coil. After three loops I took the tail end of the rope and wrapped it around the coil. I found a bag of 100 6" sticks at Michaels and 100 baggies with ties that fit perfectly on the cookie. They also have a ton of different individual colored pastes to choose from. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I made this for our VBS and all the adults liked them but the older kids said they needed more flavor. And the younger kids ate them up really fast . I think i will make this recipe and make a sugar cookie recipe with the same color idea and everyone will be happy !! I loved them just sorry the kids didnt !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessmomof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elsberry, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
These are very cool and creative. They are also super easy if you use store-bought sugar cookie dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bpelotte
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I made these for a bake sale and they were a HUGE hit. I used bright primary colors to grab attention. They were so fun to make and eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bpelotte

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I don't like giving unfavorable reviews, but I have to say, this one just didn't do it taste-wise for us. They were really fun to make, and the kids really enjoyed shaping them. But the flavor was missing something. First, it wasn't sweet enough for our tastes. It also tasted (not texture, texture was ok) a bit doughy. On the up side, it was a fun activity to do with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~S~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Photo by EMMA37
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
OK, I do not like the taste of this recipe so I used the 'soft christmas cookie' recipe from this site and then used this color/swirl idea, which I think is great! Much fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMA37

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I did not care for these. I consider myself a pretty good cook. These were time consuming and not worth it. I'm going to put some frosting on them in hopes I can salvage these.. but I'm definitely not making the again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ameemom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
My girls really enjoyed making these cookies. It kept them busy for a good while but I do have to agree with others that they don't taste like much. After baking and tasting them I wish we would have sprinkled them with some sugar before we baked them. Maybe even mixing up some powdered sugar glaze might help too. They are very pretty to look at and the girls had a great time. Just for that reason they are great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassypriscilla
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This recipe was a real hit at my son's nursery school. The cookies are colorful and fun to make. I made the balls first and then chilled them and only used 3 colors. I don't find them very tasty - as mentioned before, it is more like a spritz cookie than a sugar cookie. But the final result is beautiful especially when sprinkled with a bit of sanding sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassypriscilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: May 23, 2008
These were great! I made them with my 4 year old son, they were fun to make and taste good too! I didn't use the sticks though, but they're still very cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States