Play Dough Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Kelly Krocker
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
My 3 1/2 year old son had a great time making these. He only made one cookie and I was stuck making the rest. It was fun but the dough got soft very quickly. I would suggest working in very small batches or rolling all of the balls first then put them in the fridge and then make the cookie. Beware they are time consuming but worth it. We gave these away as end of the nursery school year gifts. The kids thought it was cool to eat something that looked like playdough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Honor Ross
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
These are not good! The dough did not feel like play dough- it just felt like normal dough, but oily. I tried baking them, and they wouldn't. So, I baked them much longer and they finally did something, but they were cracked everywhere. Also, the color was faded, probably because I used food coloring. They have no flavoring or taste at all. Three stars for the cute idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honor Ross

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA
Photo by Carmen
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
After reading the reviews, I decided to try these using another dough recipe (Best Rolled Sugar Cookies from this site also). These look beautiful! Thanks for a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I know a lot of people think this cookie really lacks in the sweet section. What we do when we make them is dip the top part in white sugar before baking. I actually really like that this is such a mild cookie and so fun to make! I wear a pair of rubber gloves when making these to avoid food coloring stains and also so that I can work with my hands rather than a mixer. My younger cousin really, really likes these...I'm going to have to hide the batch I just made so I can make it to my show tomorrow with enough for the cast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I have been wanting to make these for a while now and I am so glad that I finally did! These are SO cute and delicious too! I followed the recipe exactly and found the dough was great to work with and had a great flavor. I think next time I will make these a little smaller though. All in all a fantastic fun recipe that I will for sure make again! Thanks for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
All the reviews dont talk much about the recipe its self...If you are looking for a good sugar cookie recipe, I would not suggest this one. These cookies had a doughie taste and not much flavor at all. My 2 year old loves sugar in all forms but she would not eat these. I cooked the first batch exactly the way it read and they came out soft and super doughie tasting. So I thought if i cooked them longer then they would taste better. I cooked the second batch and 350 for 15 mins. still didnt taste good. Third batch I cooked them at 375 for 20 mins lol, they came out crunchy(not burned, not even browned)but tasted better. If you like the way the look then try your own favorite sugar cookie recipe. These were fun to make and are more time consuming then most recipes but I thought they were easy. Im gonna make playdough cookies but use my own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by goodandgoodforyou
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Very fun cookie project! Yes, it is a lot of work, but can you imagine how these will go over at a party or a bake sale? We are taking them to a sporting event and the kids will go nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Loved doing these cookies! My son thought they were great. I didn't use the sticks. Read in other reviews that they didn't have much taste, I added a lot of almond flavoring. They tasted awesome! Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I agree with the review that the cookies tasted a bit "doughy"... but they were fun and colorful and the kids loved them so they passed all the major tests. Besides... it's better for me to have cookies that aren't a huge temptation anyhow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I love these cookies! Super easy! Super fun! And they look so awesome! I made them for a Halloween party in orange and black and I kept having to refill the plate! I made them with Steeler colors for the super bowl and they were so perfect! They are a little crunchy which I don't mind, but I have put a piece of bread in the bag and it softens them up perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States