Play Dough Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
These cookies looked really good but the taste wasn't the greatest. I would recommend to use a sugar cookie recipe and then just add food coloring to it that would taste much better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvmykids
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
These turned out great! After reading reviews that they puff up quite a bit, I made mine smaller than I wanted but mine stayed the same size through baking. I even used some leftover dough, twisted it and formed it into heart shapes and those stayed true to size as well. Fun recipe for kids, I can't wait to see their reactions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CARRIEFBROWN
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
These turned out great for me. And were a great kids' dessert for a recent party we hosted. One tip I have is that I divided each color into 24 balls BEFORE putting them in the freezer. I just tossed them in quart sized ziploc bags. They only needed 30 minutes in the freezer that way, and I took them out 2 or 3 at a time to shape. It sped up the whole process tremendously and none of the dough got warm, soft, or dry from sitting out while I divided it. I also took the advice of another reviewer and dipped the lollipop stick in an egg white/water wash before putting it into the cookie. The cookies stayed on the sticks wonderfully while the kids munched away! I'm uploaded photos of how mine came out as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
These were sooo much fun to make! Some reviewers complained of a bland taste, well this a butter cookie recipe and not a sugar cookie recipe so it won't be as sweet. Next time I'm going to try a sugar cookie recipe and see how that works. Great recipe for kids---the kids gobbled these right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
These turned out very pretty but they are not very tasty. The inside does taste doughy as previous reviewers have mentioned. They lack flavor and I even added almond extract and a little more vanilla. I think my kids will still eat them because they look so cute, but next time I will make them with a tried and true sugar cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna F.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I really wanted to like these. What a cute idea! I even made them a second time to see if I had done something wrong. They are fun for kids, but they are a bit bland and the color is a bit too strange unless you are going for some kind of theme. Maybe great for raising money for a team using the school colors? My kids ate them, but I made something else to take to the bake sale because I didn't want these associated with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Made these with my four year old daughter, and we had fun. I let her make any design she wanted, as long as it was flat and relatively circle-like. They look adorable, the taste is okay, I think next time we will sprinkle them with sugar before baking, as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Really cute but no flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
These cookies were very fun to make , but the taste wasn't that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nhi Torres
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
The extra trick not mentioned on the recipe is to use food coloring gel (gives you more vibrant color) and the other one is after you roll it into a long snake, make sure you twist it so that the colors twist. After that, wrap it into a circle. This gives it a more rounded/twisted color. :) With this recipe, I actually made it for my son(no dairy/eggs) friendly. I replaced the cream cheese with toffutti immitation cream cheese and the egg with ener-G egg replacement. They turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States