Play Dough Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Cute, very cute! I am not sure if I did something wrong but they did not taste that great. My sister took a bite and handed it back and said it was "not worth the calories" and a 6 year old took a bite and said "I don't like this" my 4 year old and 2 year old scarfed them down though :) I would give them 5 stars for creativity and fun in the kitchen with my 4 year old. We made heart shaped for V-Day. CUTE look, taste not so great..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
These cookies are so good. The only change I made was to add 1/2 tsp. almond extract. They do taste like a spritz cookie. I am sending them to my grandchildren.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
If you're looking for standout VISUAL appeal, these cookies are WORTH IT. If you're simply looking for a yummy cookie, I'd pass these up. That being said, these DO taste good! However, they're just not worth the work if presentation isn't a motivating factor. Even though I refrigerated the dough overnight (and kept the dough balls in the frig between batches), I had issues w/the dough. When I attempted to roll the balls into a "snake", things got, well, sticky! I couldn't keep the dough from sticking to my hands (10X sugar would have helped, but I didn't want to dull my vibrant colors). I attempted to roll one out on a cutting board, but that worked worse than rolling between my hands. I baked my first 6 without lollipop sticks, as I wan't sure they were going to work (and they looked great as plain cookies, too). When I discovered they did work (I was wary of too much spreading), I added a lollipop stick to the final 12. My yield was only 18 cookies and I couldn't have made them any smaller and had them not look silly on the sticks (and I, actually, would have liked them to be bigger). One thing I really DO like about this recipe is the cookie edges don't brown, so they look super vibrant. All in all, I will make them again if presentation is a priority. THANKS for the recipe, Terri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
These were more difficult to make than I thought. My dough ended up kind of mishapen/lumpy looking. I suppose if I spent way more time shaping each cookie they would have looked better. My young son thought they were pretty tasteless. UPDATE: 3 weeks later I decided to eat up the rest to get rid of them, and found they had greatly improved with taste as they sat in an airtight plastic container (with other batches of cookies). I actually became a little addicted to them...so I've upgraded my rating from a 2 to a 3 (for taste). They're still a '1' as far as ease to make is concernced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
soooooooooooooooooooooooooooo colorful and fun
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This is an amazing recipe! It rolls just like playdough, even better, because it doesn't leave little droplets all over the floor. My kids loved playing with this, they shaped all kinds of things with this dough. We made lollipops, sunflowers, hearts, little girl's head, mickey, just all kinds of fun. It's super easy to prepare, takes no time at all. I freeze the dough for 1 hr if I want to speed it up. But other than that, it's perfect for an afternoon of fun playing and eating. I made it for birthday parties as well, they were a great hit! Just can't rave enough about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
These were SO MUCH FUN to make. We used six colors instead of four and ended up with 25 cookies. They were adorable and delicious. I will definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I just finished making these for my kids' last day of school, and came up with a couple of tricks to make these easier to shape. After mixing the dough and coloring, I got my little cookie scoop, and scooped balls from each color of dough. Not only is it easier than trying to roll dough, it allows you to have more consistent balls of color, and you don't warm the cold dough with your hands. I let the dough balls chill, and kept them in the refrigerator, only taking out enough for one cookie at a time. It made the dough much easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
fun to make and looks GREAT but not the best tasting cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovetosew1977
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
These cookies were great! My 2 year old loves them. I did take a few suggestions from other people though. I used 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp almond extract for flavoring. Also used a bit more sugar in the dough and rolled in sugar before baking. Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetosew1977

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States