Play Dough Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
It is a very creative idea but I can not count on one hand the number of people who liked the recipe. I made 2 batches for the holidays and not even most kids liked it. The cookies stay soft forever but there is nothing noteworthy about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I love these cookies! They are so fun for the holidays, and they taste very good! One recommendation though... make sure that the butter and cream cheese are room temperature and not freezing cold. I made this mistake the first time, and the cream cheese came out very lumpy. I had to start the recipe all over again! Once they did work out though, I loved them! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
My kids and I had so much fun making these, I wouldn't have cared what they tasted like, but they were great. I can't say if they stay soft or not because they didn't last long enough! I only wish they weren't so time consuming. Still a great recipe, and worth every minute. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking Mom
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
YUM! Light and fluffy...and fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I couldn't decided between 3 and 4 but since they cookies stay moist and don't get hard I gave it it a 4. They come out cute but are very very time consuming. MUST be chilled very well or will not roll or coil right. The butter and cream cheese will soften too much from the temperature of your hands. The cookies tastes really good but nothing special. Doesn't take very long at all to cook so watch carefully. Mine were done in about 6 minutes. I let them set on the cookie sheet then moved them to a cooling rack. One of the softest sugar cookies(and cutest!) I've ever had. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mdavis22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I've made these twice. I've only received complements.[My family's not shy, they would tell me.]There fun to make and eat. It's a cookie you make every once in a while, it's a little special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Finally I bought cream cheese just in time to make this recipe for halloween! The cookie tasted delicious, and the orange and black stripe turned out beautifully! One caution, don't underbake. I did and mine were a little too soft to stand up on the stick so I had to back each one with chocolate. Nobody complained though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I tried this recipe as a Halloween gift for the kids' teachers. I must say, they were really impressed! I used the lollipop sticks and wrapped the cookies in mini-cello treat bags, with festive ties. These are beautiful to look at, as well as delicious. I think it must be stated that real butter be used, as well as full-fat cream cheese and real vanilla extract. I also found that it's easier to roll the ropes for each cookie if you mix the color into the mini-batches of dough, refrigerate, and then make a log with each color. I then joined the logs, refrigerated for 10 minutes, and then sliced the big log into 24 pieces. Rolling out each cookie was pretty easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELVISCOSTELLOFAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Very tasty cookie, stayed soft even couple of days after baked. Couldn't quite get mine to look as pretty as the picture, maybe practice makes perfect. Trying this recipe out as just a regular sugar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyLisa
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Ok.. I was not sure how to rate this cookie. One thing I wish I knew Trisha's secret to making the awesome black and orange ones. I ended up making this recipe as called for, i scooped out the right amount for each cookie, then put it in the fridge for 20 minutes. THen I rolled them all into ropes (each color) then put them back into the fridge for 15 minutes. Then I took the orange rope, and black rope and spun them togehter and rolled them so they were combined. Then put them back into the fridge. And I could only bake 6 at a time because I only had so much room on my cookie sheet. So as I took them out of the fridge I stuck sticks into them. THey sure didnt look as nice as Trisha's... grr. Ok and about the taste. I read all of the posts about how they didnt taste very good. I thought they tasted just fine, and way sweet enough. I liked the cookie. Ok.. ill add a pictur tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyLisa
Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States