Plastic Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I used this instead of fondant to cover my son's birthday cake because I don't like the taste of fondant. I will say, the flavor was better than fondant (taste and texture is just like that of a soft tootsie roll) but this stuff was incredibly hard for me to work with. It was sticky and gooey and I had to use a LOT of cocoa powder to get it to roll out and not stick to the rolling pin and my hands and the counter. And in the end, it ripped and came apart across one side of the cake and just looked a mess. My son is 1 so he didn't notice but next time, I will stick to fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Anderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale, Indiana, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Does anybody have an tips for rolling this chocolate. I want to use it to cover a cake for my friends wedding and I am finding it sticks to everything including the rolling pin. I have tried using Trex and using cocoa but have had no success with either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I tried this recipe last weekend with white chocolate... fantastic! I will use this instead of fondant. I wonder if I could add flavors to the white or chocolate?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Easy. Easy. EASY!!! I didn't mind the grease since it separates itself from the chocolate. I used my trusty little dipper crock pot to melt the chocolate (enough to hold a pound of it) and pour in half cup of corn syrup. Stir until well blended, tip over the sink to drain the grease, be mindful that none of the plastic chocolate goes with it. This will be my first choice now for decorating cakes. I hate the messiness of marshmallow fondant! This turns out a lot cheaper too. Thanks for the post :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shetcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Muntinlupa City, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I used this recipe to make white chocolate for a replica of an AA chip for a cake. It worked out just great. I have a lot to learn about writing on chocolate (a LOT to learn). This was a first attempt at this. Because I didn't need very much, I used 4 ounces of white chocolate chips and 2 tablespoons of corn syrup. It really does get easy to handle as you knead it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I have used this recipe with both semisweet and white chocolate and it turns out perfect every time! I don't even use fondant anymore, this stuff turns out and tastes amazing! Also works great in the Cricut Cake cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairhope, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I couldn't get this to work properly - the white chocolate version was far too runny and the dark one was too solid! Found it very difficult to work with - I did perservere and it turned out ok in the end but I was afraid of the chocolate roses melting on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wickedwoman
Home Town: Wicklow, County Wicklow, Ireland
Living In: Perpignan, Languedoc-Roussillon, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This recipe was a life saver, although I actually had to change it all. I live in Australia and couldn't find corn syrup, so decided to go with honey instead. I also used dark chocolate (72% cocoa), because I wanted to have a very dark color to my decoration. The taste was just fine. Honey will crystalize the sugar a bit, so after leaving it set overnight you need to work the dough a bit to get rid of any lumps. Since this was my first time, I struggled a lot until I realized that, for this version of mine, it is much better to refrigerate the dough as I work with small amounts at the time. For instance, I opened it flat with a rolling pin (between sheets of wax paper) and refrigerated the flat pieces prior to cutting letters or shaping things. Then I refrigerated again, and just then placed on my cake, which was covered with white fondant. Anyway, it turned out great. Highly recommended :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wizard's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
OMG This recipe is amazing! I've used it 2 times already. I've used it to cover cake balls and truffles, I also used some with my niece's birthday cake. I'll be using this one forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissiFizzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Loved how this turned out. If you add the corn syrup while the chocolate is still to hot, it will turn into a huge oily mess. Just let it sit and cool before kneading again, cause you need the oil to stay in. If it is to stiff, you can add more corn syrup. When it set, I had to knead a bit to get it plyable, but kneaded it with mm fondant and made chocolate fondant..... So, so good!!! Will use white chocolate next time and combine with mm fondant so I can use different colors. Need to try to make roses with this too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hawaiicooks101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States